Chelsea Cardwell – (What To Expect When You’re Expecting – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Chelsea Cardwell about her role in ‘What To Expect When You’re Expecting’. Here, Chelsea talks about how she got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Chelsea. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘What To Expect When You‘re Expecting’.

Hey Matt! Of course, it was a great film to work on…

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The general plotline is following different women in their journeys getting pregnant…whether through adoption, by accident, or expected. It follows the popular book, ‘What To Expect When You’re Expecting’

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a small role in the film as the BBQ Waitress during the scene in which Skyler and Dennis are celebrating their baby at a Margaritaville themed pool party.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I originally went through weeks of casting and callbacks for Anna Kendrick’s best friend in the film, Molly. But after casting went in a different direction for that role, they were sweet enough to still put me in the film. Kirk Jones is an amazing and sweet director.

In your opinion, what makes this film different and unique?

This film is an enjoyable one to watch because it encapsulates many different walks of life and paths that we go on to attain something that so many of us want to have at some point in our lives.

The film stars Cameron Diaz, Jennifer Lopez, Elizabeth Banks, Chace Crawford, Brooklyn Decker, Ben Falcone, Anna Kendrick, Dennis Quaid and Matthew Morrison – with Kirk Jones onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I worked with Elizabeth Banks, Brooklyn Decker, Ben Falcone, Dennis Quaid, and the director, Kirk Jones. Dennis Quaid is always such a sweet man on set. He loves what he does and he exudes that with his energy and passionate commitment to his job. Ben Falcone is a great comedic actor as well. He is so naturally funny that just watching him be himself is a scene in and of itself. Kirk is a great director because he knows what he wants and he knows how to get it. Not many people could handle a multimillion dollar film set like that with such confidence and patience and Kirk made every moment a joy.

Let’s talk a bit about you Chelsea. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I have always loved acting, and before I got into the film industry I worked solely in theatre. But after a few years, I wanted a new challenge to tackle and knowing that it was going to be an uphill battle was a riveting challenge I just had to jump into. Film acting is amazing because it gives you a universal empathy for human kind if you use it in the  right way. You can learn anything you want to if you use each experience in the right respectful way.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

The one piece of advice I wish every actor understood would be this — law students  don’t apply to a grad program before graduating from college — just because LA or NY is out there doesn’t mean that you don’t have put in the work to get there. I have seen so many of my friends move there with nothing on their resume and no experience and literally sit there for 4-5 years and finally decide to move back. Know your area — never get bored — always jump into the next opportunity, if for nothing else you will learn about the industry! Take the non-paying indie jobs!! It only helps you appreciate the glitz part when it comes — and it will come if you take each step one at a time.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three ‘personal’ things could you not live without?

Oh man…olives….I love me some olives. I dream about them at night. It’s so embarrassing. Haha besides that I would say, ‘Essays’ by Ralph Waldo Emerson, as well as sunscreen. I burn like a little Irish girl should.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

It’s so cliché, but I would have to say Marilyn Monroe, and then Richard Harris – (what a hottie he was), and Laurence Olivier. I love all of them for their work and also I just think that group together would be a feisty group. Martinis anyone?

What is your favourite word?

Gumption. That and tenacity. Have both of those and you are unstoppable.

During off-shoot days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

I love to know my area. I spend a lot of time in Charlotte, NC and I like to find a great running trail. I am currently trying as hard as I can to prep for the Rock And Roll Marathon in November. I am also a huge nerd and I like to have dinner and movie dates by myself.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

2012 has been a great year so far. I played a recurring role in Showtime’s ‘Homeland’ (Maddie). And currently I am playing a recurring character in a new show for Cinemax/HBO entitled ‘Banshee’. The show is headed by Greg Yaitanes – (from ‘House, MD’) and Alan Ball – (from ‘True Blood’). I play Beaty, a rebellious teenager in the town of Banshee who likes to get in trouble and push boundaries. She is so fun to play! The show premieres in January of 2013 but we have been shooting since May and will be pushing through until October.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a comment

Check Out The Archive!