Carl Bauer – (Defiance – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to Carl Bauer about his role in new SyFy TV series, ‘Defiance’. Here, Carl talks about how he got involved in the project and what it is like working with the cast and crew on-set…

scan001001AHey Carl. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your role in new TV series, ‘Defiance’.

No trouble Matt. Always happy to talk about a project and ‘Defiance’ is easy to talk about.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the series? 

‘Defiance’ is a sci-fi action/drama set on Earth in the near future. After the sudden arrival of a group of aliens, collectively known as Votans and a lengthy war the Earth is has been terraformed by huge alien machines that have left it unrecognizable. Now the seven different alien races and the human survivors must learn to co-exist in order to survive. ‘Defiance’ is a western style boomtown that is a vast melting pot of the emerging society with a wealth of stories to tell. Intrigue, action and drama abound in this new frontier.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the series…

My character’s name is Rupert The Miner. Rupert is a lot of fun to play. He is a lovable sort who works hard and plays hard. He is strong and steadfast and has a genuine concern for his fellow miners and townsfolk and will do what he has to to protect them. He might be a little more brave than smart but he is trying to do the right thing. Love him or love to hate him? I go with love him, for now. Hopefully we’ll get the chance to explore him further.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

I auditioned for the pilot’s director Scott Stewart – (‘Priest’). The audition scene was the bar room scene that introduces the character Kenya Rosewater – (Mia Kirshner) to the show. It’s a funny scene and I guess I gave Scott what he wanted because he laughed out loud and he cast me in the part.

How would you say this TV series is different and unique? I hear there’s a game out as well that ties in with the show…

Yes this is the first time that a network and a video game company have co-produced a project. The unique aspect of both is that what happens in the game can affect what happens in the show. It will be very interesting to see how they incorporate all the twists and turns into both. The creators not only came up with seven different alien races but they also came up with distinct languages for them as well. The sets and visuals are amazing. They built the entire town of ‘Defiance’ on a back lot in Toronto. It’s impressive. Put all of these together with the amazing special effects and the in-depth stories and you have a really cool unique show.

The series stars Dewshane Williams, Julie Benz, Grant Bowler, Tony Curran, Trenna Keating, Stephanie Leonidas, Jamie Murray and Nicole Munoz – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

The ‘Defiance’ set was one of the best, if not the best set experience I have had so far. All of the cast and crew are amazingly talented and fun to work with. It was very much like a big group of friends working together. On breaks we would hang out in-between trailers and tell stories and joke around with each other. There were a few practical jokes thrown out and the odd impromptu rap session that would break out, one even included Graham Greene. It was a pleasure to work with all of these talented people. I think the fans will see that chemistry come through on-screen. Just being on set is amazing. To walk down the streets with all of the different aliens, the wayout buildings and the richness of the colours really is quite the experience. You are in a different world.

Let’s talk a bit about you Carl. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

Acting, film and stage have been a passion my whole life. I made my own little films with my Dad’s Super 8 camera when I was a kid and would always ham it up at family functions. I got involved in the industry many years ago but other opportunities came up and I got involved in the financial world as a currency broker on both Bay St. in Toronto and Wall St. in New York. A few years ago a friend was making a trailer for a film that he was making and he asked me to play a small part. I did that and met some people who asked me to do something else and the fire was lit again.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

This is not a business for the feint of heart. Always remember the people who help you along the way because you cant do it all by yourself. Have a passion. Work hard, study hard and above all, always believe.

You’ve been in a number of TV series and film projects – which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with and why? Any good stories?

As I said the ‘Defiance’ set is probably the most fun I’ve had on set. Everyone was very open and easy to work with. It was also a lot of fun to work with Gabriel Macht and Patrick Adams on ‘Suits’ and Hugh Dillon on ‘Flashpoint’.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

The Rolling Stones, The Sex Pistols and BB King.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

This is a really hard question because to narrow it down to three is almost impossible. I think I would go with Leonardo Da Vinci because I think he was one of the most complex thinkers and creators that has ever lived. Jesus because I would love to hear the two of them talk. My Mom, so I could tell her about her grand-kids, tell her I miss her and she would have some good questions for both of them.

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

I really enjoyed ‘Life Of Pi’. The visuals were stunning and its such a great story. Ang Lee did an amazing job. I do have to give a shout out to ‘Django Unchained’ as well, there were some amazing performances in that film.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

I am making my producing debut with a short film called ‘Nine Types Of Ice’ which we have just finished principal filming on. It is a powerful piece written by my good friend Michael Ripley. The script has been chosen to be produced in various international cities, including Aukland, NZ, Sydney, Aus, Dubai and Delhi via the Short But Sweet Festival. You can find some more info on Facebook. I will be shooting a web series very soon called ‘Pay Up’ which you can find at www.payup.tv. I have a couple of projects in the development stages and will be auditioning as much as possible. Of course I am hoping to do some more episodes of ‘Defiance’ and have more fun with Rupert.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

