Tim Ogletree – (Supernatural Activity – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Tim Ogletree about his role in spoof horror movie, ‘Supernatural Activity’. Here Tim talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Tim. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Supernatural Activity’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? I understand it’s a spoof?

Yeah, it’s a spoof of the “found footage” genre that has pretty much taken over Hollywood in the last few years. It’s basically what would happen if ‘Paranormal Activity’, ‘The Last Exorcism’, ‘The Blair Witch Project’ and ‘Cloverfield’ all got together and decided to make a baby, then that baby rebelled by befriending ‘Inception’, the non-found footage kid down the street. It follows Damon Dealer, the douchy host of the hit spirit hunting show ‘Supernatural Activity’ as he sets out to expose his show as a huge sham. He hires a documentary filmmaker to follow him and his team to a dinky hick town in Texas after a huge fan of the show (my character) sends him a letter begging him to come rid his home and his town of the Smallsquatch, a mythical demon that he believes is terrorizing everyone.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Dewey, who is based loosely on the guy from the first ‘Paranormal Activity’. To say he’s a fanboy of Damon Dealer would be an understatement. I’m pretty sure he’d trade his big boobed girlfriend for Damon’s used eyeliner. He probably should trade her too because she’s the most abusive girlfriend in the history of domestic abuse and beats him like she’s training to fight Pacquiao. He’s pretty much just a huge, naïve, starstruck goofball with a stupidly nice house, but he’s a lot of fun.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Well, I’ve known Andrew and Derek for a while, and was actually one of the lucky few to hear the idea from Andrew when it was still just that – an idea. I knew it was a winner and that he’d knock that script out of the park. Then, once I read the first draft and got to experience Dewey, I knew I had to be him if the script got made. I got to read Dewey at the first table read, got an audition and booked it.

How would you say this film is different and unique to say, another spoof film like ‘Breaking Wind‘?

It’s smart. The humor isn’t based on wiener jokes, it’s rooted in pop culture and sometimes a joke won’t hit you until you’re trying to go to sleep that night. That’s the best kind. It’s definitely a film that will appeal to both the general audience and film buffs. It’s a good mixture of jokes, reference jokes, and physical comedy. We really break the spoof mold with this film. After the first couple ‘Scary Movie’s, the genre really started to make people puke, not only because they started resorting to stupid, gross “humor” but also because they were just atrocious films all around. We had to change that. We wanted to get back to the good days of spoofs like the ‘Naked Gun’ movies. Goofy but intelligent. And I really think we did that. This isn’t ‘Date Movie’ or ‘Vampires Suck’.

The film stars Andrew Pozza, Liddy Bisanz, Joey Oglesby, Donny Boaz, Devin Bonnee, and Philip Marlatt – with Derek Lee Nixon onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Everyone on this film was incredible. We really gelled from the first full cast read-through and every day on set was a blast. I only shot 10 out of the almost 20 days of filming but I was on set probably 18 days because I just couldn’t stay away. It was the most fun I’ve ever had on set and I think that atmosphere really shows up in the movie. Everyone was comfortable and cool and there wasn’t an ego in the group. It even did wonders for my health. Spending almost three weeks staring at Donny Boaz’s twelve pack and .02 percent body fat will get you in that mind set. Seriously, the dude never had a shirt on. I understand on camera, we’ve got to cover that female demographic, but even if he didn’t have a scene for another four hours he’d still be shirtless. I mean, I guess I get it. If I had a body like Brad Pitt in ‘Troy’ I’d probably make sure everyone else knew too. Meanwhile, I spent half my time with a nose bandage and neck brace on. Who do you think the ladies were flocking to? Yes, me. Girls don’t like guys with abs, they like physically ailing ones.

Let’s talk a bit about you Tim. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I grew up doing stage productions at my church and that pretty much gave me the taste I needed to make me want my career to be in the entertainment industry. I went to film school at the University of Texas at Austin because my parents wouldn’t let me major in acting. They wanted me to study something that would get me a solid job, so I went with the next best thing. Turns out I love making movies. I love the whole process, from writing to editing and music, and of course acting.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Go for it. Give it everything you have and don’t listen to the people who tell you’re crazy or stupid for trying. Yeah, it’s definitely hard and there’s rejection and blah blah blah, but if it’s really what you want to do then set your sights on it and do whatever it takes. Get an acting coach, watch a lot of movies and TV to see the pros at work. Get on set, even if it’s as an extra. The experience is invaluable and there are always productions of some level going on somewhere near you. Or do a really good Justin Bieber impression and put it on YouTube. Either way works.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Not Justin Bieber, that’s for dang sure. Although I think it might actually be Spice Girls, but that’s just because of the Olympic closing ceremony. Don’t hate. Spice up your life.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

  1. Jesus. And it’s not cliché. My faith is my life, it’s why I’m here. If there’s one person who could talk you through a tough time, it’s Jesus Christ. Plus, he’s the life of the party. Dude turned water into wine. Come on!
  2. Mitch Hurwitz. I have to know how his brilliant mind works. He created the best comedy show of all time, hands down. I could learn a thing or two I think.
  3. Sandra Dee. She wouldn’t be invited to dinner with Jesus and Mitch Hurwitz. That’s a guy’s night and we’ll play poker or something. No, Sandra gets her own separate night where I’ll suit up, put on a tie clip, and charm her like Bobby Darin never could. Do you know if she liked lobster?

On your off-days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

Put on ‘Arrested Development’ and I’ll be good for hours. I watch movies and TV like nobody’s business.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’m actually working on a script with my writing partner Dylan Thomas Ellis that we’re about to start shopping around. I’m also doing some producing. Like I said, I love every aspect of the film business and like to have my hands in as many projects as I can, in whatever position I’m needed. Acting is definitely a passion of mine but it’s not my only passion. But I’m definitely looking forward to ‘Supernatural Activity’s US release around Halloween. I wouldn’t mind becoming a Redbox sensation. I might go into Apple Stores across the world and setting all the display screens to our Netflix page. Got to get the word out!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

