Benjamin Davies – (Fast & Furious 6 – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to Benjamin Davies about his role in the newest ‘Fast And The Furious Movie’, ‘Fast & Furious 6’. Here, Benjamin talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got into acting in the first place…

MV5BMTQ2NzMxNTU2Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDUyNzU1OQ@@._V1._SX214_CR0,0,214,314_Hey Benjamin. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about the newest ‘Fast And The Furious’ movie, ‘Fast & Furious 6’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding this instalment? 

The plot finds the original the ‘Fast & Furious’ cast coming together at the request of Agent Hobbs, in order to stop and catch a new elite team.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Adolfson who is a slick, high profile killer – his speciality is as an excellent marksman. Has the ability to disappear into thin air.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

I was called into to read for the part, Justin liked what I brought to it. And then I got offered the role.

How would you say this film is different and unique to the previous instalment  Did you know much about the franchise before signing on?

The film is very different I think, if you hadn’t seen the other films in the franchise you could easily watch it and be quickly dragged into it. ‘Fast 6’ really gets turned up a notch from the past films. I like all the movies but when they say this one goes up to the next level they mean it. It’s high-octane and its in London, you know these streets but with the ‘Fast & Furious’ on them you never seen them like this before.

The film stars Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Michelle Rodriguez, Jordana Brewster, Luke Evans, Elsa Pataky, Gina Carano, Gal Gadot and Sung Kang – with Justin Lin onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Working with the cast and crew was great. Everyone had a very strong work ethic, I was impressed with all of the actors and the crew. Justin Lin is a master director, there are a lot of stars in this film and I never saw him treat anyone differently – he was an extremely measured and focused man. However one of the guns I used in the movie had to be shot before ten at night because it was so loud, shooting in central London hanging off the edge of a 15 story building I almost took out the movie camera as it swung past me.

Let’s talk a bit about you Benjamin. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

When I was eleven years old I discovered acting, I was not inspired by school, lucky I lived near a theatre that produced its own work. It was of a high standard and when I auditioned and got into the theatre it changed my life, it gave me confidence and put me on a path which gave me focus and it’s a path I’m still on.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry? 

Acting is not for the faint hearted, you’ve got to be in it for the long-term. If you’re not willing to sacrifice everything you value in order to do it, then leave it alone. However if you feel like there is nothing else you can do or you don’t have choice and you have to do it then get prepared, find the best teachers, go to drama school, train like you’ve never trained before. Put the work in and be prepared.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

On my iPod at the minute are three albums by Lil Wayne, Tha Carter 2/3/4 and Mulholland Drive sound track, Paris After Dark – (1940 Music), Mumford & Sons, The View, and The Black Keys. Lots of compilations…

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Dinner would be with John Lennon, the artist Francis Bacon and the Edward de Vere, 17th Earl of Oxford. All three men lived amazing lives and would have fascinating stories to impart over dinner. John Lennon song “Dream No9” and pretty much all of his “New York” period stuff fascinates me, Francis Bacon’s art is unblinking, brutal and I think he lived his life in the same way. Edward de Vere probably was William Shakespeare – his plays haven’t been surpassed, they are the most surprising inspiring beautiful brilliantly observed documents on what it means to be human.

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

‘Rust And Bone’ was fantastic, I was blown away by Marion Cotillard’s performance and it also had a great sound track. Another film which I loved was ‘Life of Pi’ – it was a beautifully epic movie.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

At the moment I’m in America, I have just left Seattle and am now in San Francisco doing the award-winning play ‘The Black Watch’. I play an ex solider who is loyal to his friends but is battling with post traumatic stress disorder.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

