Hannah Fierman – (V/H/S – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Hannah Fierman about her role in ‘V/H/S’. Here, Hannah talks about the film and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Hannah. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘V/H/S’.

Hey Matt, thanks for reaching out to me and taking an interest in my work.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘V/H/S’ is a found footage, horror, anthology, film. There are five shorts and one “wrap-around” segment that unites the film into a feature.

“Amateur Night” is the short I’m in, directed by David Bruckner. It starts out following: Shane, Patrick, and Clint, three friends who have rented a hotel room with the intent to bring women back for sex. Clint wears a pair of glasses with a hidden video spy-camera inside of them to record the encounter. I don’t want to tell you more than that so I don’t give the ending away.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the classic misunderstood monster but I don’t think it is too obvious. My character is from another world or underworld and doesn’t know how best to express herself when she falls in love with a “bro”.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

David Bruckner asked me to audition for the project. I knew of his work and wanted to work with him. He is the best director, a real actor’s director and natural story-teller.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

There are few found footage, horror, anthologies with six directors plus. There is something for every horror genera fan. If they don’t fancy one they are bound to love another.

The film stars Calvin Reeder, Lane Hughes, Adam Wingard, your good self, Mike Donlan, Joe Sykes, Drew Sawyer, Jas Sams and Joe Swanberg – with Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and a variety of directors onboard – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I don’t know Calvin Reeder, Lane Hughes and didn’t work with: Adam Wingard, Joe Swanberg nor Matt Bettinelli-Olpin. My cast does include: Mike Donlan, Joe Sykes, Drew Sawyer and Jas Sams.

It was so much fun working with these guys! Especially the “Amateur Nights” writers, cast & crew. Mike Donlan and I have been friends for many years and I asked him to audition for David because he is so full of good energy and funny. I spent most of the time with the make-up dept and fx make-up; Fawn Ortega, Lisa Carter, and Blake Myers. I couldn’t have asked for a more professional/delightful bunch to paint me naked, five hours straight, every-single, frigid, shoot/pre-production-day.

Let’s talk a bit about you Hannah. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I’m happiest when involved in the telling of a good story or witnessing one.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Bold choices are rewarded.

You’ve been in a number of different films and TV series – which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with and why? Any good stories?

That’s a good question. I have so many insane stories from productions-past. One of my favourite actors to work with is Anna Rezan Kritsel. She is a fire-cracker Greek actress with perhaps too much moxy for her own good. We get into trouble together. I also enjoy working with director/DP Aksel Stasny. He isn’t an actor but he should be one. Dir/Puppeteer Raymond Carr is also a favourite of mine. He creates beautiful compelling films and is a joy to be around.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Cat Stevens.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Jesus, Moses and a translator. I have some questions.

You’re stuck on a desert island, you’re only allowed three personal things with you – what would you choose and why?

Bug repellent, sunscreen and my personal-boat/helicopter/locator/driver-instructor hologram/compass-device. I’d use these things to navigate home, repel unwanted UVA/UVB rays & pests, while also avoiding your question.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’m working with Dir Bret Wood on his next feature ‘Carmilla’. It’s a love-story between two young woman with a vampiric-element.  ‘Carmilla’ is based on the novel with the same name. Soon I start production on a film directed by Teace Snyder titled ‘Hold Me’.  It is a compelling story of a young woman who euthanizes people while holding them. It sounds heavy, I know, but it is beautiful.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

