Nick Pearse – (Blood – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Nick Pearse about his role in ‘Blood’. Here, Nick talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

MV5BMTUwOTU1NTA4M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDc2NTc3OA@@._V1._SX214_CR0,0,214,314_Hey Nick. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Blood’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

My pleasure, mate! The plot revolves around the investigation of the brutal murder of a young girl by two detective brothers, and their subsequent moral collapse when they pursue and murder the wrong man in their quest for justice.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

My character is a S.O.C.O. – Scene Of The Crime Officer – who is attending the scene of the murder and attempting to keep the forensic investigation in order.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was called in for a casting at Beverly Keogh’s agency after they’d seen my performance in the award-winning short film ‘The Shot’, directed by David Schofield of The Mob Film Company.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I think its uniqueness comes through in the fact that it takes the usual crime thriller scenario and turns it on head by putting the spotlight on the moral fine line which the police sometimes have to tread, and which in this case they cross over in the most tragic manner.

The film stars Paul Bettany, Mark Strong, Stephen Graham, Brian Cox, Zoe Tapper, Ben Crompton, Natasha Little, Adrian Edmondson and Patrick Hurd-Wood – with Nick Murphy onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

No anecdotes as such because I only filmed one scene with Paul, Stephen, Mark and Stuart, but they were a great bunch of guys to work with, as of course was Nick, especially when they realised that this was my first appearance in a feature film! Gave me loads of advice and made an already exciting day even more fun and interesting.

Let’s talk a bit about you Nick. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

It’s a bit of a difficult question because I’ve never really been able to put my finger on quite why, all I know is that around three years ago I just suddenly felt the need to perform! But I think it must be in my blood because my father and his sister were singers, and I’ve since discovered that my grandmother on my mother’s side actually ran away from home as a teenager to perform as an actress.

I also had somewhat of a serendipitous inroad because the very same week that I began researching local theatres in order to get started, I came home from work to find a script on my doormat, not mine, which had been posted through the wrong door and was meant for a guy who lived also lived at 114 on another street! He turned up the next evening to collect it, we got talking about the coincidence and he invited me along to see his play and to have a chat to the AD of the theatre. So I did, the AD invited me to audition for the role of ‘Aston’ in Pinter’s ‘The Caretaker’, and I got the part!

I fell completely in love with whole rehearsal and performance process, and we got great reviews, so from there I joined Darren R L Gordon’s DNA Performance Resource here in Manchester to begin formal training, that led me on turning pro about eighteen months ago, I quit my job last year to become a full-time pro, I’m still with DNA, plus I’ve been training with the amazing voice coach, and Shakespearean text expert, Natalie Grady. I am an extraordinarily privileged chap.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Well, the obvious one is to begin training as soon as possible; whether at a local drama academy, as I’ve done, or via an accredited drama school – if you can get in! But overall there really is no substitute for hard graft, passion, and being happy and thankful for being privileged enough to perform. Oh yeah, and be nice, genuinely nice, to everyone you meet, from the runners to the film director, the box office staff and ushers to the theatre director and everyone in between, and of course your fellow actors – you’ll progress so much more quickly if you do.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

The last track that came up on shuffle was Leftfield’s ‘Inspection Check One’, from the awesome ‘Leftism’ album.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Jimi Hendrix – I don’t have many idols, but the ones I do have are mostly musical, and Jimi is up there at the top for me, alongside Bob Marley, who would be my second guest. Both of these guys have been a huge inspiration to me over the years, and their music has got me through some tough times. Lastly I think it would be Patsy Rodenburg, one of the greatest living voice and theatre tutors, but also hugely inspiring, and a fantastic raconteur. After a dinner and conversation as amazing as that would be, I think I’d feel like I could take on the world!!

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

Now that’s a toughie! I’m gonna go for an obvious, but worthy, one – ‘Skyfall’. I just love what Sam Mendes did with this latest installment of Bond, and of course Daniel Craig’s interpretation of 007, and I think it’s the darkness which Daniel’s brought to his Bond that makes all three of his films so gripping and watchable.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

I’m currently touring a play called ‘The Gambit’, a beautifully written new piece by Mark Reid, about the relationship between the two Russian chess Grand Masters, Anatoly Karpov and Garry Kasparov. I’m playing Kasparov, and Ben Rigby is playing Karpov. We’ve just recently taken it to Brighton and Bath Fringe Fests, and had great reviews from both, and next up are Buxton Fringe on 4-6th July, and Manchester Fringe Fest on 17-20th July. I’ll also be filming a lead role (Smithy) in a new gangland thriller feature film called ‘The Tilbury Run’, written and directed by James Ford.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

