Mikal Vega – (G.I. Joe: Retaliation – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to Mikal Vega about his role in ‘G.I. Joe: Retaliation’. Here, Mikal talks about the film and how he got into acting in the first place…

MV5BMTUzOTQ0NjAzOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzUwODMyOQ@@._V1._SX214_CR0,0,214,314_Hey Mikal. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘G.I Joe: Retaliation’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The Joe’s get perceptually betrayed and wiped out except for a few key survivors that seek revenge against Zartan and Cobra.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play an Arch Angel from the series. The Arch Angels descend from above to wreak havoc against Cobra forces. In the film I can be seen shadowing and interacting with Duke.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I have an excellent mentor named Harry Humphries that is a prominent tech advisor and Veteran Advocate that got me the audition.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Tough question, but I would say one of the main differences would be that (SPOILER) one of the main characters die in the early stages of the film.

The film stars Dwayne Johnson, Jonathan Pryce, Byung-hun Lee, Elodie Yung, Ray Stevenson, D.J. Cotrona, Adrianne Palicki, Channing Tatum and Ray Park – with Jon M. Chu onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

They were all great. Channing in particular is a down to earth , just all around good guy.

Let’s talk a bit about you Mikal. Not only are you an actor, but you’re a stuntman, navy veteran and philanthropist. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

When I was in high school and junior high I performed. Musical theatre , concerts etc. I didn’t even play sports I was a total geek. I joined the military when I was 17 and stayed for over 22 years. When I shot ‘Transformers Dark Of The Moon’ I remembered the passion I had for acting and started to realize that I can help a lot of other people by harnessing the power of Hollywood to raise awareness on issues we all face dealing with acute stress.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Persistence and tenacity!! We only fail when we stop.

I came across this when I was doing some background research on you – you’ve set up a website called VitalWarrior.org – could you explain a bit about it for anyone who doesn’t know?

This is a great link to a press release about it but in a nutshell its a system of non pharmaceutical hormonal rebalancing based upon my recovery from acute stress – http://www.eyesin.com/health/2013/vital-warrior-fights-against-post-traumatic-stress/

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

A lot of mantras, audiobooks and spoken word.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Jesus Christ, Babaji and Hermes Trismegistus to receive blessings, guidance on liberation, and spiritual wisdom on carrying out divine purpose.

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

There were a lot of amazing films in 2012 but the most profound for me was ‘Life Of Pi’ due to the parallels of what I am experiencing in my life and the underlying teachings that the movie quite masterfully conveyed.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

A number of projects actually – ‘Black’ is a web series, where I play Agent Carnaghan, a CIA operative chasing would be evildoers, two major motion pictures that I can not disclose at this time and ‘The Last Ship’  – a series that was picked up for 10 episodes on TNT. Many incredible blessings indeed!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

