David Madison – (Oblivion – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to David Madison about his role in Tom Cruise’s new film, ‘Oblivion’. Here, David talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

images (1)

Hey David. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Oblivion’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? 

Earth went to war with a alien species called the Scavs that left our planet inhabitable. Jack Harper is one of the last drone repairmen stationed on Earth. But he begins to question everything after he rescues a woman from a crashed spacecraft. Her arrival triggers a chain of events that pretty much leaves the fate of humanity in his hands.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie and how you got involved in the project…

Well I got cast in the project to play one of the many human survivors that Jack Harper (Tom Cruise’s character) discovers on Earth. I was extremely grateful to have been able to play even a small part in their film. The attention to detail was nothing less than perfection. The atmosphere was intense, you felt in the moment all the time when working on the set – hell even off the set! That’s how real it felt.

How would you say this film is different and unique?  

First of all let me just say the Director Joe Kosinski is a visionary and an extremely creative mind. I think this films stunning visuals and its ability to tell a riveting intimate story with an epic premise makes it different and unique.

The film stars Tom Cruise, Morgan Freeman, Olga Kurylenko, Andrea Riseborough, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Melissa Leo, Zoe Bell, Abigail Lowe, Isabelle Lowe and your good self – with Joseph Kosinski onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

It was a tremendous learning experience. You discover a  whole new appreciation for film making when you see exactly how much work and time goes into it. Watching Tom Cruise and Morgan Freeman do their thing was very cool. Tom pays so much attention to detail and is so hands on, he really puts everything into what he is doing. That goes for the entire cast and crew there. Everyone worked so hard and had a blast doing it. It was a privilege working with a great group of people like that.

Let’s talk a bit about you David. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place? 

Playing characters and story telling is something I enjoy doing. I like the idea of playing other characters and seeing the world through someone else eyes or telling someone else story that doesn’t exists in some cases. Being able to create a person and exploring different worlds is what drew me into the industry.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry? 

Don’t compare your self to other actors. You know, what works for someone might not work for you. Find out what you need from yourself to become the performer you want to be. Have thick skin, stay consistent and believe in yourself.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Oh man! How much time do you have? I have Glass Candy, they perform a song called Digital Versicolor. I got some Hotchip, Wiz Khalifa, a little Hans Zimmer, some ATB, drake, and Motorcycles. My iTunes library is packed with a lot of different genres. Music really puts my mind at ease and is something I could not live with out.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why? 

Three people would probably be too many for me. Honestly man, I am not a good dinner host. For some reason I cannot carry on a conversation while I’m eating, I don’t want too!

I am always focused on eating my food way too much. The quests would be like why in the hell did this guy invite us here, he hasn’t said a word since we sat at the table. After I finish my meal I’d say “you guys are probably wondering why I gathered you hear today”. Then they would get up and leave. Haha! But if I had to choose three, it would be Gandhi, Nicki Minaj, and someone Amish.

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why? 

‘The Dark Knight Rises’ was my favourite film of 2012. Christopher Nolan did an amazing job getting the viewer to really care for the well-being of Bruce Wayne through the entire trilogy. Also Tom Hardy as Bane was badass.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

I’m looking forward to a few projects in development that has major attachments and heat behind them that I’m excited about. I’m also working on developing and producing  my own projects as well. Man I love this world I’m in, its endless what you can do creatively!

Thanks for the interview!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angelica McGee
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 06:38:39

    I thought this interview was fantastic and it definitely got me more interested in the film to see what it’s all about. I can’t wait to see David Madison’s part!!!! It’s awesome to have new faces on the screen, especially when they’re so dedicated and excited like David Madison!!!

    Reply

  2. Rleely
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 07:47:14

    Love it!

    Reply

  3. mrmadison9
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 15:11:24

    This guy has a creative mind I known him all my life there is big things to come with him in the future stay tuned.

    Reply

  4. mrmadison9
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 15:12:39

    Reblogged this on mrmadison9's Blog.

    Reply

  5. Tizoo
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 23:11:02

    Way to go David!! proud of you… keep it up. Now I really want to see the movie. Tizoo

    Reply

  6. MrGarrison
    May 10, 2013 @ 00:54:30

    David Madison….the name it self has potential to be something quite great. Also, quite the sense of humor haha. I found this interview to be rather entertaining. May I recommend a video if possible? Tis all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

