Eva Link – (House At The End Of The Street – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Eva Link about her role in ‘House At The End Of The Street’. Here, Eva talks about how she got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Eva. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘House At The End Of The Street’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Elissa (Jennifer Lawrence) and her Mom (Elisabeth Shue) move into a house right beside the house where a young girl, Carrie-Anne, killed her parents ten years earlier. Her brother (Max Theriot) survived and still lives in the house and comes to befriend Elissa.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

The character I play in the film is “Carrie Anne”. She’s like the town’s urban legend; the girl who apparently killed her parents and is rumoured to live in the woods.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was sent for an audition by my agent in Ottawa without knowing much about the project and how big a production it was – (especially for a smallish town like Ottawa). When I went in for the audition, there was a huge thunderstorm, and right before it was my turn to go in, the power went out to the building. They decided to keep running the casting and lucky for me, the thunder and lightning made the atmosphere creepy as hell and really helped in making me look somewhat threatening. I was called back to meet with the director, Mark Tonderai, and that’s when I knew I got the part!

How would you say this film is different and unique?

When I actually saw the film put together a couple of weeks ago, I was amazed by all the stylish effects put in during post production. It was great to see all the footage put together with the music and visual effects.

This movie doesn’t have gratuitous violence and gore, unlike most scary movies. Suspense is created using more creative methods, like extreme close-ups and fast cuts. It’s a horror movie that parents will let their kids go see.

The film stars Jennifer Lawrence, Max Thieriot, Elisabeth Shue, Gil Bellows, your good self and Nolan Gerard Funk – with Mark Tonderai onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

The cast and crew for ‘House At The End Of The Street’ were amazing! Having only seen the movie recently, I was amazed at how great all the performances are. Every day on set was really fun. Actually most of the “days” I was on set were actually all-nighters, which were pretty interesting…we would be eating calzones at 4am in the morning. Something cool that I remember is when Mark was first explaining to me his vision of Carrie-Anne, he showed me this music video by Fever Ray called ‘When I Grow Up’. I’d never heard of the group before and it’s now my favourite music video. Karin Andersson – (Fever Ray front woman) was definitely an inspiration for my performance.

Let’s talk a bit about you Eva. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I wanted to be an actor ever since I started to watch films and couldn’t stop thinking about them after I’d seen them. I love Jack Nicholson as Jack Torrence in ‘The Shining’. He plays this deranged psychopath with so much control, but not so controlled that the character seems two-dimensional …he’s so natural. Paul Dano in ‘There Will Be Blood’ is great as well.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Never expect anything. Don’t complain. Watch movies! Keep doing your own art, don’t procrastinate and wait for someone to tell you to. Keep a journal of creative ideas.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

90s alternative rock bands like Bettie Serveert, The Spinanes, Superchunk, Guided By Voices. As for new stuff, I like King Tuff, Wavves, Jay Reatard, Lakutis, Deerhunter. I’m also into Nick Drake, Elliott Smith, The Strokes, Sigur Ros…I know I’m forgetting stuff. I’m trying to get into Megadeth since I have a T-shirt of theirs that I wear all the time and don’t want to carry the guilt of being a poseur.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Daniel Clowes, who is the author of ‘Ghost World’, ‘Ice Haven’, etc. From his interviews and his novels, he seems to be a guy with a good sense of humour  I’d invite Jay Reatard because this is a prime opportunity to bring him back to life. Maybe I’d also have Thurston Moore over because he can freestyle really well. I think these three would get along nicely. I would make them nicoise salad!

You’re stuck on a desert island, you’re only allowed three personal things with you – what would you choose and why?

“Personal things” I assume means inanimate objects – (no cats), soooo I’d bring a tent, cured meats, and a box of matches. In a much more interesting but far less practical scenario, I’d bring PB & banana sandwiches – (they’re good), 1Q83 – (that very thick new novel by Haruki Murakami that I’ve been wanting to read – it would last a whiiile), and an i-Pod containing an encyclopaedic music library – (to improve musical literacy).

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I just finished shooting a movie last month that is still being kept pretty quiet. I will say that it’s another horror movie, and that my character is the one being scared for a change. I really enjoy doing scary movies, but it’s funny because I’m not necessarily a horror movie buff!

In the near future, I’m quite excited about Halloween coming up in a couple of weeks. I’ve always wanted to dress up as Wendy Torrence from ‘The Shining’!

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie Roth
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 23:54:40

    Does Eva Link have a twitter or Facebook?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

