Joel Berg – (Night Of The Living 3D Dead – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Joel Berg about his role in ‘Night Of The Living 3D Dead’. Here, Joel talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and what is currently on his I-Pod…

Hey Joel. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Night Of The Living 3D Dead’.

No problem, thank you.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The film is a zombie thriller. It’s the story of a group of people whose paths cross when they try to escape a zombie attack by fleeing to a farmhouse in the countryside.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the role of Tom. While him and his girlfriend flee to another town, they find temporary safety in a farmhouse in the countryside. There he meets a few other people, and they decide what to do next. He’s a good guy trying to keep himself together whilst doing what he thinks is best. Trying to act strong for his girlfriend Judy, he is not without his own doubts and worries.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I saw an online casting for it when I was visiting back home in Vancouver for the summer. It sounded like a great project with some really exciting ideas involved! I filmed my audition on tape in Vancouver and sent it to Samuel. After I returned to London, we had a long chat and he told me he wanted me for the part. I was super stoked to be able to be a part of it, and to meet the rest of the cast!

How would you say this film is different and unique?

There have been a few remakes that have taken the setting or plot in a slightly different direction. This remake is staying really close to the original, while modernising the material a bit. For instance, the farmhouse interior is almost exactly built like the original, but the dialog is no more “by golly, why gee!” ha ha. This is the only film to be shot in true 3D which I hope will work well and add to the experience a bit.

The film stars Gemma Atkinson, Nathaniel Francis, Gregory Caine, your good self, Hannah May Wood, Rachel Doherty and Lara Duke – with Samuel Victor onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

They are all a good time! Tons of laughter and plenty of banter, I probably wouldn’t repeat a ton of it in an interview, but we had some righteous good jokes! Being a smaller set, we had a lot more time together than on other sets, so we got to know each other a bit which is nice. It was a blast to be involved with a lot of great artists.

Let’s talk a bit about you Joel. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I’ve always been fascinated with different characters and times of history. Just travelling places is not enough for me, and so through acting and film I can explore these other lives or places that I have been so interested in more. There are so many things that I’d like to do but simply cannot do them in this day and age and get away with. Robbing banks or being a Roman Centurion for instance heh. There are many others, but to do a few is pretty rad and dream.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

I would say persistence and diligence. There are always things that make it difficult for you. Thankfully you run your own life and you are the person who makes your own decisions and are in control. And so if you want to, you’ll find a way. I think that if your honest and true to yourself you make decisions from the heart, at least that is the way for me and that’s where my real motivation comes from. I’m a big fan of Bear Grylls, he is a great example of someone pursuing what he’s always loved. Everyone is different, but nothing is impossible.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

The Chevin, The Stowaways, John Mayer, Eddie Vedder, some weird stuff I’ve been meaning to delete, Fifa soundtrack and some other pretty rad stuff.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Agh, there are too many to think of, Socrates would be cool. But without dwelling on the past… Christian Bale and Johnny Depp are my favourite actors. I’d love to ask him “Christian, I gotta new card… whaddya think?”. And probably Eddie Vedder, his music has always been a favourite. They have done so much for their crafts and are always an inspiration.

If you could choose a literary character to will into existence, who would you choose and why?

James Bond. Need I say more?

What’s coming up for you in 2012/13?

As usual waiting to hear on a few projects so I will have to wait and see! It starts getting busy in January here so I’m looking forward to getting out for some other great projects. There’s also a couple of things I’ve had on the burner for a bit that I might get going. For instance, without giving anything away, a documentary on bikes through Central and South America for a few months with a couple of my bro’s. So I’m looking forward to some good times ahead regardless of what’s to happen!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

