Virginia Petrucci – (Excision – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Virginia Petrucci about her role in ‘Excision’. Here, Virginia talks about the film and how she got into acting in the first place…

MV5BMTY0MTI4NjI1N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTQ1OTk0OA@@__V1__SY314_CR128,0,214,314_

Hey Virginia. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Excision’.

Thank you so much for chatting with me!

Whats the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘Excision’ is about an unbalanced high school girl and her delusions regarding her sick sister, her social life, and her obsession with medical procedures.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie

I was hired for some of the insert scenes as one of the dead girls….we were all pretty naked and body painted to look like dead bodies. The scenes were really artistic and beautifully shot, but most of them got cut out.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Pretty last-minute, actually. I was booked just a few days before filming, from my online modeling portfolio.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

The film is grotesque yet beautiful, disturbing yet funny. I was really impressed with the end result when I saw it. The ending is also very bold.

The film stars AnnaLynne McCord, Traci Lords, Ariel Winter, Roger Bart, Jeremy Sumpter, John Waters, Malcolm McDowell and Marlee Matlin – with Richard Bates Jr onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I was hoping to get to meet Malcolm McDowell, but he wasn’t around when I was shooting. I shot during the very last days of filming, so people were a little tired after such an intense film, but everyone, from the makeup team to the cast, did a great job.

Lets talk a bit about you Virginia. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I’ve been modeling for seven years, and my goal was always to branch out into film as an actress and writer. I’ve had some great experiences on set since I’ve moved to L.A. to pursue this goal, but one of my favorite experiences would have to be filming ‘Bikini Spring Break’, an Asylum feature in which I booked the lead. We filmed in only fourteen days earlier this year, and it is now available on Redbox, OnDemand, and Netflix.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

It takes time and commitment. Finding and agent and manager is crucial, as is being readily available for auditions and jobs. But the most important thing to remember is that there really are no rules as to how people “break into” the industry….it almost always happens randomly when you aren’t expecting it.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Quite a lot, I love music! The Pixies, Smashing Pumpkins, Placebo, Mindless Self Indulgence, Georges Bizet, just to name a few.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Hmm….that’s a very hard question. I would say Vivien Leigh and Audrey Hepburn, as well as Lena Dunham (she’s the writer and star of the HBO series ‘Girls’, which I absolutely love).

If you could choose a literary character to will into existence, who would you choose and why?

Gregor Samsa from Kafka’s ‘Metamorphosis’, because I would like to converse with a giant bug.

What’s coming up for you in 2012/13?

I’m looking forward to the release of ‘We Must Remain The Wildhearted Outsiders’, a dark yet erotic feature. Check out www.wmrtwo.com to see the trailers.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

