Claudia Bird – (Love Bite – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Claudia Bird about her role in ‘Love Bite’. Here, Claudia talks about how she got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

MV5BMTcxODM3Mzg0NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTk0MjgyNw@@._V1._SX214_CR0,0,214,314_

Hey Claudia. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Love Bite’.

No problem Matt, happy to help!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Well it’s set in the dreary town of Rainmouth where summer has just started. Jamie (played by Ed) is our main guy who’s looking for something to do other than help run his pot loving Mum’s B&B. His friends have one thing on their mind and that’s getting laid. Jamie isn’t as interested, that is until he meets Juliana, an American traveller who’s arrival marks the start of very strange goings on in Rainmouth. Kids going missing, bones being found and with no explanation until hunter Sid arrives, warning Jamie that there’s a werewolf in town with a taste for virgins! After that, the only thing left to do is pop their cherries (and fast!) before they too are hunted down.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Well I play Karyn, one of Alicia’s best friends. She’s one of these girls that watches a little too much TOWIE and spends way too much time in front of the mirror. At one point Spike has his eye on her, which she’s not particularly happy about, unfortunately being stuck with him pretending to listen so Alicia can spend a little time with Jamie. She definitely holds herself in very high regard and thinks she can do better. It’s all about the girls and having fun with Karyn I think and her idea of fun is certainly not spending time with Jamie and the boys.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I actually went to a very last-minute audition for the film. A family friend runs a modelling acting agency and she had been at a meeting with my Dad. As a passing comment she mentioned she was going down to her old school to look for teenage girls to audition on behalf of her agency. My Dad suggested I’d be interested, I went to the audition a few days later and the next week I got the call saying filming started the next day up in Largs. Was all very exciting!

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I feel it’s got the humor that attracts a lot of the younger generation, very ‘Inbetweeners’-esque, but also has the horror element which sets it apart and can appeal to a much wider audience. It’s a very varied cast with some well-known names and some completely unknown ones but everyone worked together and got on so well. The writing is also fantastic; it had me in stitches reading the script. Most of it was filmed in Scotland which I feel gives it that unique edge, you’re not just seeing the typical London suburbs that films like this are usually set, it’s a nice change!

The film stars Luke Pasqualino, Jessica Szohr, Ed Speleers, Timothy Spall, Kierston Wareing, Robin Morrisset, Robert Pugh and Eloise Smyth – with Andy De Emmony onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I can honestly say they were all the nicest group of people. Everyone just gelled and so filming was very smooth and a lot of fun which I think comes across in the movie. We’d all have a ball filming and then all go out after, cast and crew and just let our hair down. Andy is great, he knows what he wants and he won’t stop until he gets it but he listens to everyone’s thoughts and input and takes it all on board. I think that combination makes for a really good outcome, you can’t go wrong! It was very sad the day we wrapped, though when each actor finished their last scene they were applauded off set, what a group of people, I’ll definitely never forget that.

Let’s talk a bit about you Claudia. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

Well I’m going to do the clichéd thing here (sorry!) but tell the truth and say I’ve wanted to be an actor for as long as I can remember! I remember going to the theatre for the first time and it absolutely blew me away and I still leave the cinema with shivers. I’ve now got a feature film to add to the list of musicals, radio and theatre which is brilliant. It’s a tough industry but I couldn’t do anything else. I might end up living in the gutter (let’s hope not) but I’ll be happy as long as I’m still doing what I love.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

If it’s your passion and you have the drive, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I’ve seen too many people give up as they’re told they won’t make it or it’s too hard and it’s heart-breaking. It’s a very tough industry to break into but if you have the will and the talent then don’t stop trying. Getting turned down at auditions is all part of the process, just wait for the day that you get the phone call saying “you’ve got the part!”. Don’t lose faith, work hard and don’t stop believing in yourself. That sounds so cheesy but it’s true I promise!

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Well if I’m being honest, currently my iPod is broken, I think due to the ridiculous amount of music on the thing. It’s a complete variation ranging from show tunes to classic rock. I still have my iTunes though so I’ll have a quick look at that…my top 3 Most Played songs are…Kings of Leon, Bon Iver and The Waterboys! There’s a nice mix, can’t go wrong with a bit of “The Whole Of The Moon”.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Ahh this is such a hard one. If I gave it a deep thought I’d probably end up with a banquet of about a hundred people so off the top of my head…Bob Marley, Tom Hanks and Frank Sinatra. I went for Marley as I’ve seen the films about him and read a lot and he truly sounds like an amazing man. I’d just sit and listen to him for hours, plus how could you not love his accent? Tom Hanks is one of my favourite actors and I’ve heard he’s a very down to earth guy. I’d love to get all his tips and tricks for acting and also to convince him I should be his next leading lady, might as well give it a go eh? Finally Sinatra, he’d be our entertainment as he’s such a talent. I only wish I’d been alive when he was at his peak, that voice!

If you could choose a literary character to will into existence, who would you choose and why?

It’d have to be Edward Cullen from ‘Twilight’. As Bella Swan wouldn’t technically exist he’d have no choice but to be with me instead…I did will him into existence after all, so I think he’d at least owe me a date or two.

What’s coming up for you in 2012/13?

Well, as is the norm in the life of an actor I’ll be continuing to attend auditions and hoping to get somewhere! At the moment I’m working in a bar to pay the bills (told you I was a cliché) but I’ll keep going with the acting and who knows what will happen. I figure if you put the work in, something’s got to happen eventually…right?

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

