Dwaine Stevenson – (Bad Behaviour – 2010).

I recently got the chance to talk to Dwaine Stevenson about the UK release of ‘Bad Behaviour’. Here, Dwaine talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

11053880_oriHey Dwaine. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Bad Behaviour’.

Thank you mate, much appreciated.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? 

Good question, not sure how to really answer that one, but I’ll just say for me it’s like, a series of unstable events that cross paths to form an outcome of insane destruction. Or something like that..

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a character called “Mark”. He’s a police offer in a local town. He’s a real guy with real everyday life issues and struggles just like the rest of us. I think that’s what I loved most about playing him after doing ‘Gabriel’. Mark is a genuine person trying to deal with life, work & marriage. Everybody has there challenges in life and everybody has there breaking point, so it was exciting to just really explore the vulnerabilities of human nature.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

It came at a time I was really wanting to do something very different for me. Then I received a few calls initially out of the blue, and then I ended up speaking with the director Joseph Simms. I read the script, really loved it and then we began talking about the whole thing. We spent quite a lot of time together initially on the phone discussing “Mark”, Joseph’s vision for the film and his approach to the whole story. Then I ended up flying to the Gold Coast to meet everybody and from there the process just kept going.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

The fact that it was Joseph Simms first feature film, which makes every step of the way special and unique for all involved. He believed in his vision and stuck to his guns without trying to do something to please or gain approval. The film does what it does and doesn’t apologise for it. The whole team made it a special experience.

The film stars John Jarratt, Lindsay Farris, your good self, Robert Coleby, Georgina Symes, Roger Ward, Jean Kittson, Caroline Levien, Ellen Grimshaw, Dominque De Marco and Rio Holland – with Joseph Sims onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Well, the only cast members I saw or worked with were John Jarratt and Robert Coleby. For me and my journey it was like being in a film within a film. The whole crew was awesome, in every way. They also did whatever they could to help create a an environment where you could really just immerse in the world. There was a moment or two in a certain part of a scene with Robert & John, where it really heated up between us. It’s all about serving the story and characters and trusting, so you really have to appreciate those kinds of moments where you shake up the bee’s nest to find something real and organic. I loved it.

Let’s talk a bit about you Dwaine. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

For me, I had always felt something within me growing up that wanted to explore acting & after my career within the Australian Army ended, I was quite lost and soul-searching at the time. I found myself walking into the Actors Center Australia in Surry Hills Sydney, just to test the waters and get some answers for myself. I was as nervous as hell but at the same time it was a healing experience for me at the time. From there, everything started to make sense and off I went with no real plan, just following my instinct and going for it.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry? 

Funny thing advice..because we all really have to find and trust our own paths. Be polite, respectful, relaxed & take care of yourself in all ways, physically, emotionally and spiritually. Stay away from the booze and don’t smoke! It wasn’t until I spent some time a Strasberg in LA where I really understood what it is to be a real artist. I learnt that to do it well, you must lead a full life first. Don’t be an actor who is a waiter & angry at the world because he or she is waitering but tells people they are really is an actor etc. Whatever you’re doing, do it completely and with humility. Love what you do, either way it’s your life. Don’t waste it thinking you should be somewhere else. I remember being told that Lee Strasberg once said, “It’s show business, and business is the bigger word.” So learn about the business, the more you understand it, the better for your sanity and stamina. Of course, I learnt these things the hard way. Pursue it out of love and trust in the outcome of your belief, it’s a long distance event.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Right now, well I train quite regularly at the gym, keeping fit, boxing, weights.. you have to continuously look after yourself. That’s just a life rule for me no matter what you do. So I listen to a lot of trance songs that have a positive and uplifting beat.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Ok, let’s see…I’m sure this list could be pages long, but…

  • Jerry Lewis, because no one made me laugh as much during my childhood.
  • The Dalai Lama, because I’m sure I’d laugh and learn something about myself and life.
  • Lee Strasberg, because I love all the old stories of that golden time when it would have been the greatest time to be an actor.

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

That is a tough question…off the top of my head, ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ & ‘Skyfall’ – just for the enjoyment value. I’m sure there were others too. But I have to also say my favourite movie I’ve enjoyed this year has been ‘The Life of Pi’. Awesome film, great visual and moving  journey and I just loved the story and the tiger! Best film for me.

What’s coming up for you in 2013? 

2013, mmm, who knows?! I’m always in talks about a potential film and character. But, I’m in no hurry at the moment. I’m only interested in those parts that demand everything and I’d want to die for. Until myself and my agent line up with that kind of opportunity, I’ll just keep living, loving, having fun, keeping fit, strong and disciplined, so I can make the most of the opportunity when it arrives. Though I am getting the hunger for a tasty play!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

