Lucia Brizzi – (The Zombinator – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Lucia Brizzi about her role in ‘The Zombinator’. Here, Lucia talks about how she got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

360407690562-517915_960x360Hey Lucia. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘The Zombinator’.

It’s my pleasure!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? 

There’s a US government plot to lower the population by infecting people with a virus that turns them into a zombie. The government is specifically targeting communities that are economically struggling, like Youngstown, Ohio. The Zombinator’s job is to inform and protect us civilians from this attack. And to kill zombies.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Our director, Sergio Myers, gave the cast members pretty much free range in creating our characters. Such a rare and great opportunity for an actor. My character, Nina, is optimistic and idealistic, two afflictions I happen to live with as well. She believes in the goodness of people and that she is destined for a charmed life, so the blow of imminent apocalypse figures pretty difficult to accept.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

Sergio held auditions through YouTube. We had to make an audition video as if we’d just seen a zombie and were telling a friend about it.
Being a rom-com loving girly girl, I had never seen a zombie flick. I assumed they were like vampires, super sexy. In my video audition, I admit to my boyfriend about the hot night I spent having my brains sucked out by an impossibly seductive dead person. Sergio of course thought I was a crazy freak and contacted me immediately for a call back.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Every word is completely improvised. We as actors had no idea what we were signing up for when we agreed to ship out to Youngstown, Ohio in the dead of winter and run around screaming for a week. On set it began to feel more and more real. Sergio and the production team gave away nothing to us, we were told the scenario for each scene as we went so we never knew when we were going to die. Sergio felt like our God in a way, which is a director’s fantasy of course. Act the f*ck out of this scene or get eaten, was consistently running through my head. Also, I fell more in more in love with my fellow cast members as the days went on and I wanted them to live too. But, obviously, if there was to be one survivor I was totally hoping Nina would get to pursue her advanced degree in puppetry or whatever she was planning.

The film stars Patrick Kilpatrick, Joseph Aviel, your good self, Justin Brown, Diana Lotus, Jennifer Sulkowski, Scott Alin, Travis Bratten and Melvin Breedlove – with Sergio Myers onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

The ones that are coming to mind are inappropriate, which is the trouble with my mind and I should probably look into that in my next Skype therapy session. We had some great times on set, huddled around sources of heat in abandoned haunted warehouses, hanging with real life ghost hunters and communicating with the dead (I now believe!!), some amazing dance parties. For a movie about dead people, it was a cast of some incredibly alive human beings. It was a really odd freakish party.

Let’s talk a bit about you Lucia. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

It chose me, as cliché as that sounds. I’ve always been a performer, trying to make people laugh with my Al Bundy impressions as a little girl. When I realized there was a job called actor, I set my sights on it and worked as hard as I could. Every moment in my life has been cast under the knowing that I am meant to be doing this, everything has been filtered through the perspective of how it will serve me as an actor. And I always liked fancy dresses, so maybe watching the Oscars had something to do with it.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry? 

Trust your instincts. Ask yourself what your unique contribution to the world is or can be. Then focus and invigorate your confidence that you can and will manifest it.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

I like a good balance of pretty female folky voices and swagger inducing male rappers. Also, being a newly born California Girl, I am guilty of blasting some sugar pop Katy Perry as I cruise around town.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Leonardo DaVinci, Sigmund Freud and Mindy Kalin. DaVinci and Freud because those dudes were smart. Mindy, because they’d also be really intimidating. We could laugh at their funny haircuts and stuff together, and become best friends, one of my top life goals.

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

‘Bridesmaids’ because I like laughing until it hurts AND it was a great moment for women in comedy.

What’s coming up for you in 2013? 

I’m producing a new web-series! It’s my favourite thing on the internet and it’s not even on the internet yet. ‘Ella Blank’s Hollywood’, about a young actress who is everything about myself I hide for shame. You’re going to be obsessed with it.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Zombinator Interview with Film Buff Matt J Horn | Lucia Brizzi

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

