Gabriela Marcinkova – (360 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Gabriela Marcinkova about her role in ‘360’. Here, Gabriela talks about how she got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Gabriela. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘360’.

You’re welcome. And sorry to let you wait so long. I had quite a busy time last days.

According to IMDB, the film is ‘a dramatic thriller that weaves together the stories of an array of people from disparate social backgrounds through their intersecting relationships’.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

My character is called Anna, she’s a young Slovak girl living in Bratislava with her parents and sister. They are not very rich. In the very beginning of the story she is travelling to Vienna with her sister, who is about to earn money as a prostitute. Anna is trying to persuade her that this is not the best way how to make a living and in the same time she is trying to protect her and be with her all the time. Anna is a bookworm, perfect student and a girl who doesn’t give much about her appearance.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

We were lucky that Peter Morgan wrote a script with two Slovak girls in mind and that Fernando Mereilles was looking for two actresses who were really from Slovakia. You know, they could choose someone from Poland, Russia, even from Austria – nobody would recognize it except for a few Slovaks and Czechs. So, there was a casting in Prague and I knew only a very little about the movie. I found out some more information after this first audition and I realized how big an opportunity it was. After the second audition Fernando picked up me and Lucia…probably also because we take a bit after each other.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

For me? Because I could play in it! But seriously…the first information I found was that the movie would be about relationships, about cheating, sex and violence. But when I was reading the script I realized it’s about hope and love, too. After watching the movie in London I found it even more pleasing. It’s probably also merit of Fernando’s wife Cica who made a brilliant music score…I don’t know…but for me the movie reveals souls of different people from different countries, speaking different languages, having different desires but still having something in common – they are struggling for happiness. Most of them don’t succeed. But they keep trying and that’s important.

The film stars Rachel Weisz, Jude Law, Anthony Hopkins, Lucia Siposova, your good self and Johannes Krisch – with Fernando Meirelles onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Yes, the cast is amazing…but at the same time the movie is composed of many different stories and every story is only about two or three people who meet each other. So I never worked with Anthony Hopkins or Rachel Weisz, I’ve met Jude Law a few times, but that’s all. My main partners were Lucia Siposova and Vladimir Vdovichenkov. And they were both a big support net for me. Lucia lived in New York for few years so she helped me with my English and Vladimir who didn’t speak any English made me feel comfortable. He has a special ability to joke in English although he knew only a few words. And Fernando? He is an outstanding director. He managed to create such a good atmosphere on the set that everything went fantastic. I loved working with him because he never made me uncertain and encouraged me to do my best.

Let’s talk a bit about you Gabriela. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

Actually, I never wanted to “get into the industry”… I just gathered all my courage to apply for the Theatre School and I was accepted. I told to myself: “You must be patient, you have to wait for your opportunity and you have to do your best in theater, even in a small one”. You know, we don’t have any school for film acting in Slovakia, we only study theater and those lucky ones can play in TV series or short films. I was the luckiest lucky one…since my first year at school I had the opportunities to play in TV films for Czech television.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Maybe this – don’t want it too much. And don´t imitate anybody. I know it’s hard when you see all those amazing actors and you want to be like they are. Don’t allow yourself to begin imitating them. Stay yourself, work hard in whatever you are doing and wait for your chance… I know it’s kind of cliché but I believe it works…

You’ve been in a number of different films and TV series – which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with and why? Any good stories?

I’m a big fan of Mads Mikkelsen and a few weeks ago I had a chance to meet him and to work with him. And it was a really extraordinary experience. He is not only a great actor but also a lovely person. The way how he works… he thinks about every shot, tries to make it special and interesting, he treats everybody very kindly, he knows how to make his co-actors relaxed and comfortable… I was very lucky to have the chance to observe him while working.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Kate Nash, Lana Del Rey, Piano Guys, Gotye, Beyonce (when I feel like dancing), Jason Mraz… and anything worth to listen to.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Sigmund Freud and Fiodor M. Dostojevskij because they were a great inspiration for the next generations and they were really unique in their thoughts and ideas. And Meryl Streep. She’s one of the best actresses ever.

On your off-days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

I love athletics and I used to do it in a professional way when I was younger. Now I still do running so in my spare time I am catching my form for the next half-marathon. I often go to theater or cinema, I love reading books, watching movies, drinking wine…

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

A lot of theater… in a few weeks I should start rehearsing a new play and then there are two more premieres in front of me this year. I am shooting a Slovak series which is quite successful these days. And I also hope another challenge will appear.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

