Emily Bicks – (Excision – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Emily Bicks about her role in ‘Excision’. Here, Emily talks about how she got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

MV5BMTg3MjgzNTA1OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjIzMzg3OA@@__V1__SX213_CR0,0,213,314_Hey Emily. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Excision’.

Of course! I’m so proud to be a part of this film.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? 

‘Excision’ is about Pauline, an unattractive teenager, who struggles with the pressures of fitting into high school, pleasing her parents and a burning desire to lose her virginity. With a grotesque curiosity for the darker side of life, everyone around her considers Pauline a social outcast. Enticed by flesh and blood, she retreats into her own fantasies and hopes to become a great surgeon one day.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play “Breanna,” a 14-year-old girl, who connects with Pauline by being a fellow social outcast at school. She’s a total loner, sitting alone at her own cotillion because no one will ask her to dance.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I originally auditioned for this film for a different role. I remember reading the script thinking, “Wow, this is really twisted,” and then feeling a little guilty for how much I enjoyed it. I had a great time at the audition, reading with the director, Richard Bates Jr., and casting director, Carmen Aiello. I found out afterward that ultimately I was not the right for the role of Natalie. A month later, my manager got a call with an offer me to play Breanna. I was shocked! In my mind, I had already accepted my rejection and moved on. I couldn’t wait to work with Richard (Ricky), who also wrote the film.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

This film creates a new genre of horror. Normally, when I hear “horror movie” I think of jumping out of my seat and covering my eyes. ‘Excision’ makes your insides squirm. It’s horrific by vividly showing Pauline’s psychosexual nightmares. Her deepest and most personal thoughts are fully exposed. I find that to be terrifying! These dream sequences are brutally honest and gory, (and awesomely executed by AnnaLynne) yet Ricky shows them in a way that also makes them lyrical and lustful.

The film stars AnnaLynne McCord, Traci Lords, Ariel Winter, Roger Bart, Jeremy Sumpter, John Waters, Malcolm McDowell and Marlee Matlin – with Richard Bates Jr onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I shot my scene with AnnaLynne near the end of production. It is always nerve-wracking jumping in to what is already a well-oiled ship. I was especially nervous since I was such a fan of the cast list’s previous work! I walked on to set and the weirdest thing happened. The crew, including Ricky and AnnaLynne, were all came approached holding their iPhone’s asking to take a photo with me. I was like is this a joke? Ya’ll are just messin with me! Apparently, they are all huge ‘To Catch A Predator’ fans. A job that I did nearly six years ago as internship credit for my Journalism degree at NYU. This wasn’t even an acting job! “You guys have to start watching less MSNBC”, I told them. I felt absolutely ridiculous but it was a great ice-breaker for the day. Sounds cheesy, but everyone rocked.

Let’s talk a bit about you Emily. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I’ve always loved performing on stage. I started dancing when I was 5 and was involved in every school play. Taking my dance career to the next level, I enrolled at a ballet boarding school for high school, which forced me to quit acting for some time. After years of intense training, my body was plagued with injuries and I missed acting. Physically forced to put dance on the backburner, I enrolled at NYU, attending auditions in between classes. I took a year off from school to do the Off-Broadway play, ‘The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie’ starring Cynthia Nixon. Living in NYC, walking to the theatre everyday, and performing every night was idyllic. I was happy. Yearning to be more involved with TV/film, I wanted to move to LA as soon as possible. My parents made me wait until I graduated.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Do anything else. Not kidding! If there is anything else you love to do, do it. This business is constant rejection and non-stop frustration from the amount of politics involved. Only if you can’t imagine doing anything else and truly love your craft should you pursue a career in acting.  If acting is what you must do, then I would just say to stay positive and try to enjoy the ride.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Right now, at this exact moment, it’s Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, AWOLNATION, The Lumineers, and A$AP Rocky. I’m a huge hip-hop fan but I love everything from Tom Petty to Carly Rae Jepsen.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

This question has been stressing me out! There are so many fascinating people with whom I’d love to pick their brains, so I’m just going to say the first three that popped into my head the first time I read it:

  • Tom Hanks – My favourite actor. He makes movies my favourite movies. Aside from his talent, he seems to successfully balance business and family life, as well. He’s the man.
  • Oprah Winfrey – The most powerful woman in the world! She is a walking and talking example of having a vision and then making it happen. Growing up watching ‘The Oprah Show’, I feel like I already know her and that we’re one book club meeting away from being best friends.
  • Robert Griffin III – I can’t help it. A die-hard Redskins fan and sports freak, I’d love to talk to the man who has once again, finally given Washingtonians Super Bowl hope. He is what makes football so great and my Sundays the best day of the week.

If you could choose a literary character to will into existence, who would you choose and why?

Clark Kent/Superman. The world could use someone like him. I could marry someone like him.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

I’ve been toiling away, writing a book for years, but 2013 looks like the year it’ll finally come out. This has been a passion project of mine and I can’t wait for it all to come to fruition. Acting wise, my next movie coming out is called ‘Kiss Me’, starring Sarah Bolger, Emily Osment, John Corbett and Jenna Fischer. It’s a coming-of-age film in which I play an off-beat yet sweet girl named Colleen. I had a lot of fun making that movie and am very excited to see the final cut. Then it’s back to the grind! Auditioning, keeping fresh in class, more writing, and watching the Redskins go to the Super Bowl! That last part might be impossible, but it’s all a part of that “stay positive” thing I was saying earlier.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

