Ralph Cole Jr – (No Saints For Sinners – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Ralph Cole Jr about his role in ‘No Saints For Sinners’. Here, Ralph talks about what it was like working on-set with the cast and crew and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Ralph. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘No Saints For Sinners’.

Thank you for interviewing me! I am pleased because I recently saw ‘No Saints For Sinners’ at our September 2012 American premiere and can now eagerly answer your questions about the film.

What is the general plot line surrounding the film?

It is a gritty drama about an IRA lifer named Mickey O’Hara who has become disenchanted with “the cause.” The IRA used to be an army of freedom fighters, but they have degenerated into an international criminal organization that makes money selling drugs and training terrorists around the globe. Things come to a head for Mickey when a drug shakedown goes bad and he is forced to kill his partner to prevent him from committing a senseless murder. Marked for death, Mickey flees to LA, determined to make a fresh start and leave his violent past behind. When a close friend runs afoul of some powerful drug dealers, Mickey temporarily resorts to his old ways to help him get out of trouble. However, instead of making things better, Mickey unwittingly sets off a chain reaction of events that reawakens the ghosts of his past and threatens to destroy everything he holds dear.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Terry, the transvestite bar singer in Los Angeles. Terry is the owner’s favourite.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

According to the breakdown released, my manager submitted my materials to the producers upon which I was invited to audition for the cameo role of Terry.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It is filled with redemption which greatly propels this cinematic project. Nathan Frankowski, our director, punctuates this film with vulnerable moments which is comforting to see juxtaposed with the necessary violence.

The film stars Rick Crawford, Marty Maguire, Kate Tomlinson, Collin Sutton, Keith David and Michael Dion Thompson – with Nathan Frankowski onboard as director. What was it like working with the cast and crew on set?

Brilliant. I worked with Nathan, Rick and Ron Gilbert. All professional. All wonderful. Furthermore, whenever you have a crew that is on the same page as creative, you are in for a good time. And that is precisely what we all had on set!

Let’s talk a bit about you Ralph. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

Matt, I was born to perform. Because of my parent’s unending support, I was enabled to be steered toward the entertainment industry from an early age.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

If you are passionate about your dream, go for it wholeheartedly…but only if you are passionate! Passion and tenacity are key.

You’ve been in a number of different films and TV series. Which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with so far?

When I was growing up I used to watch comedian Soupy Sales on TV. I would never have imagined that in my adult life I would actually get to co-star opposite him in a powerful film called ‘This Train’. He was so funny to be with on-set….just like all those years of laughing at him on TV. When I worked with Charlie Sheen on ‘Two And A Half Men’, we shared nice conversations between rehearsals. And on ‘Desperate Housewives’, working opposite Marcia Cross was a complete thrill.

If you could have dinner with three guests (living or dead), whom would you choose and why?

  1. Harriet Tubman because I was always impressed at how she led so many slaves to freedom under such heinous conditions. And I would like to discuss with her how she accomplished this.
  2. Lucille Ball because her classic comedy sitcom ‘I Love Lucy’ is my all time favourite and is what has inspired so much of my phenomenal comic timing.
  3. Ryan Murphy, popular TV show runner. I would enjoy sharing a laughter filled evening with Ryan to discuss TV projects he would write and I would excel in.

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

Amsterdam. The ultimate charm, bike riding, tulips, canals, liberalism!

On your off-days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

Nothing pleases me more than grilling and cooking for my mother Rose. She loves it! It is a wonderful full circle experience. And I do it every day, not just on off-days. Also, tending my garden in the sunshine nurturing my lemon and orange trees as well as my billowing Mexican bamboo.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Weekly, I co-host the highly rated, repeatedly talked about ‘On The Set’ with Jasper Cole via www.blogtalkradio.com where we are heard by millions on this our Planet Eartha! Jasper Cole is an inspiring veteran character actor with over 106 film/TV credits and he’s created this relatable and appealing radio show.

Film audiences will be seeing me peppered in features such as ‘Christmas Eve’ appearing opposite Haylie Duff and Bianca Lawson directed by Peter Sullivan; ‘K-11’ working opposite the mesmerizing Kate Del Castillo and compelling Goran Visnjic directed by Jules Stewart; musical comedy ‘How Sweet It Is’, acting opposite hilarious Joe Piscopo and legendary Paul Sorvino directed by Brian Herzlinger; to short film festival circuit favourite ‘Dirty Talk’, opposite Jeff Sumner, Jason Boegh and Claude Knowlton, directed by Jeff Sumner.

Webisode viewers will not be left out when they see me play the casting director on Courtney Zito’s award-winning, second season of ‘Hollywood Girl’; as well as playing the flirtatious waiter in Exie Booker’s new hit ‘Borderline Coyotes’.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 06:15:02

    I LOVED working with Ralph. I adore him personally, but more so working with him was pure bliss. Professional, funny, fun to play off of, a dream to direct. A gem through and through 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

