Andy Demetrio – (Star Trek Into Darkness – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to Andy Demetrio about his role in the newest ‘Star Trek’ film, ‘Star Trek Into Darkness’. Here, Andy talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got into acting in the first place…

images (3)Hey Andy. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about the newest Star Trek movie, ‘Star Trek Into Darkness’.

What’s the general plot line surrounding this instalment?

‘Star Trek Into Darkness’ takes the crew of the Enterprise back home only to discover Starfleet in ruins. Corruption from within their own organization threatens the fleet and everything it stands for. Captain Kirk leads an epic battle of good versus evil in a war-zone world to find and capture the powerful villain – (Benedict Cumberbatch). The crew are launched into a game of life and death, through challenges of love and battles of friendships. Sacrifices must be made for Captain Kirk and his crew to survive.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I’m part of the main crew on the bridge of the ship, right in the heart of the action from beginning to end. The crew all have crucial roles on board, we are standing by, ready to take orders from our Captain.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned for the role without really knowing the full story, being part of ‘Star Trek’ is very secretive business, the movie was even given a special code name, so even when I was filming, I couldn’t tell anyone about the movie!

How would you say this film is different and unique to the previous instalment? Did you know much about the ‘Star Trek’ franchise before signing on?

Absolutely, I’m a big fan. I would say that ‘Star Trek Into Darkness’ does the franchise justice. It has everything that the first movie offered, but in my opinion, its bigger and better. New and old Trekkies alike will appreciate the character driven plot and a few clever ‘in’ jokes for the fans. Its action packed through out and the story doesn’t slow down, making for a very entertaining ‘Star Trek’ adventure. Be prepared for a constant high in this movie.

The film stars Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Benedict Cumberbatch – (playing….John Harrison, ahem), Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, Zoe Saldana, Anton Yelchin, John Cho and Alice Eve – with JJ Abrams on board as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I have to say, it was a pleasure working with the whole cast and crew. Chris Pine is a great guy and a talented actor. Coming to set every day felt like seeing family and friends, we got really close and working with JJ Abrams is honestly one of my best experiences yet. In terms of anecdotes, the best thing for me being an Englishman was at 3pm everyday on set, come rain or shine, we were presented with PG Tips and digestive biscuits, I mean it doesn’t get better than that! Especially in Los Angeles where its hard to get a good cuppa tea!

Let’s talk a bit about you Andy. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

I’ve always loved movies, as a kid, I really enjoyed the theatre and watching my favourite actors, Marlon Brando and James Dean. I had the chance to audition for Italia Conti’s in London at age 10 and out of thousands of kids, I got accepted. That was it, I was in. Since then its been on and off the stage and in and out of film sets, I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Find your passion. There are so many aspects to this industry and not just one avenue to explore, you’ve got to love it. You might be working 12 hour days on set with no sleep and its crazy, much more demanding than you might think. But just like any dream, you’ve got to go out and live it. Its fascinating being around writers, actors, crew members, producers, it takes a lot of people to make a movie and you can be easily inspired by each of them. It’s important to make sure you are doing everything you can to explore and use your talents fully, don’t sit around and wait for someone to hand you a script, go write your own, go out there and make it happen.

You’ve worked on a number of different films and TV projects in various different roles besides acting – which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with and why? Any good stories?

I have worked with so many talented people since being in LA. Most recently, I worked with Josh Robert Thompson and he does the most accurately, spookiest impersonation of Morgan Freeman, it blew my mind. Also, I was working on a movie recently in Hollywood and Woody Harrelson kept driving around on his segway, waving. I saw him everyday on those mall cop things and it just made me laugh.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Radiohead – High And Dry.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Elvis, his mum and my mum. We would all have a blast. His mum and my mum would probably make an amazing dinner, her southern style and my Mum’s Greek traditional dishes whilst Elvis and I could jam together, I’m a true fan through and through.

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

‘Silver Linings Playbook’. It shows how an independent style movie can be entertaining and not need a lot of high action and a huge budget to keep you captivated, just a good story and good actors.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

I play Derek in a new romantic comedy film set in San Francisco, written and directed by the super talented Jed Rigney, called ‘Nowhere Girl’ starring Josh Robert Thompson and Jennifer Aspen. Look out for the funny British guy in his boxer shorts eating a cheesy puff, that’s me! Also, a new British comedy series called ‘Full English’ of course, so this year is going to be a funny one.

 Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

