Josh Wingate – (Dark Skies – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to Josh Wingate about his role in ‘Dark Skies’. Here, Josh talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

images (1)Hey Josh. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Dark Skies’.

It’s a pleasure. Thank you!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

It’s a fun thriller that makes one really question the possibility of “visitors” being amongst us. It takes place in ‘Anywhere, America’ with an average family going through the challenges of everyday life. You know, struggling to pay the bills, raising kids, keeping the marriage alive. ‘Love’ is the glue that keeps it all together. But suddenly, strange things start happening. Is it the kids? A prankster? Or . . . insert ominous musical chords here . . . something else? You really have to see it. I was jumping out of my seat and I knew what was going to happen! My wife had nightmares. Scott Stewart wrote and directed an entertaining and scary film.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I have a small cameo in the film. I worked with Scott [Stewart] on ‘Priest’ and really hit it off with him. He creates these worlds that take you places and you believe they can actually exist. In ‘Dark Skies’, I play a gun salesman. It is a funny little bit. A moment of comic relief amid the white knuckling and breathtaking scares.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Scott made me wash his car while topless. I kid, I kid. Scott and Rick Montgomery, the casting director for ‘Dark Skies’ and ‘Priest’, gave me a shot at it and they liked the character I prepared for them. The rest, as they say, is history.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It doesn’t pretend to be something it isn’t. Without giving too much away, I would say that it doesn’t rely on a huge reveal like other thrillers. Rather, it keeps cranking up the tension for the audience higher and higher. It’s pretty intense!

The film stars Keri Russell, Josh Hamilton, Dakota Goyo, Kadan Rockett, J.K. Simmons, L.J. Benet, Rich Hutchman, Myndy Crist and Annie Thurman – with Scott Stewart onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I had a blast on set. The atmosphere was really chill and relaxed. My scene with Josh Hamilton was enjoyable. Believe it or not, the small scenes are more difficult at times than the ones that give you a beginning, middle and end. There is a certain art to creating a moment without having the lead-in. Josh and I had fun with it for sure and shared a few laughs.

Scott was great to work with on this project. He created a comfortable environment for the cast and crew. He’s also unbelievably talented, so it is always a pleasure to watch him work and have him direct you. I can’t wait to see more from him. Heck, I can’t wait to work with him again! Keri Russell über-talented! Loved watching her deliver the goods.

Let’s talk a bit about you Josh. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

I got hooked at age 15. I was part of an arts program in high school where my main focus was the visual arts, but we were also exposed to the performing arts – dance, music, and theater. I took a theater class my second semester of my junior year. By my senior year I was majoring in theater. The bug bit and there was no turning back. It took me a few years and multiple paths to get me to L.A., but when I finally made the jump I knew it was right and it has been quite a ride so far.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Get some therapy. Joking! Seriously, it is what you make of it. I believe the key is staying busy and never waiting around for someone else to give you permission for your own success. There is always something you can be creating. It’s no secret that the acting journey can be tough, but I couldn’t imagine doing anything else with my life. If you can’t either, then it is the right choice. Make a way and don’t let anyone tell you differently. It is up to you what you make of life and its ride. If the entertainment industry is your dream then come on board!

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Wow. It is a mish-mosh of eclectic-ness. I listen to folk, hip hop, rock, jazz, country and the lot. I guess right now I have been enjoying the jazz greats like Billie Holiday and Duke Ellington. Bob Dylan is a big go-to. When I want to bob my head to the beat and get pumped, it is the Beastie Boys. I could go on for days with this question. It all depends upon my mood. I am really loving the resurgence of Americana Bluegrass style. You know, Mumford and Sons and The Lumineers.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

First, Gandhi. He intrigues me. I love his philosophies and self-sacrifice for the greater good. He seemed to have a good sense of humor, too. Second, Daniel Day Lewis. I am arguably his biggest admirer. He is my inspiration for greatness as an artist. I’d like to pick his brain.
Last, but not least, my wife. She is my best friend and life partner and I would want her to be there to experience this amazing dinner!

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

That is a tough question. There are too many good ones to pick just one! I loved ‘The Master’. Joaquin Phoenix delivered an amazing performance. I also really enjoyed ‘Les Misérables’, ‘The Sessions’, ‘Lincoln’, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’, and ‘Life Of Pi’. Suffice it to say, it was a great year for films.

What’s coming up for you in 2013? I hear a new world war is about to begin…

Yes, I am blessed to be a part of Marc Forster’s ‘World War Z’. I can’t wait to see it! I had a blast filming in England and meeting Brad Pitt was a definite highlight. The trailer looks amazing!

InverseStillI also have the indie feature ‘Inverse’ coming out later this year. It is my first lead in a film and it is a great story. It is the first of three in a trilogy. I play a man who wakes from his supposed death to find that all may not be what it seems including himself. I can’t tell how excited I am about this project. Matt Duggan, the writer/director created an intricate world that was a wild ride to navigate. He challenged and pushed me in ways I have never experienced.

Besides that, I am always fighting the good fight! Staying healthy and fit is always on my daily calendar. Gotta be ready for the imminent zombie apocalypse!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

