DJ Burrus – (People Like Us – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to DJ Burrus about his role in ‘People Like Us’. Here, DJ talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

MV5BMjA2NDM2NjIzM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzc2ODU2Nw@@._V1._SX214_CR0,0,214,314_Hey DJ. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your role in ‘People Like Us’.

What’s the general plot-line surrounding the film?

The film is about a man who has recently lost his father, and discovered that he has a sister. Now he has to help his sister without her figuring out his identity…BUT you have to watch it for the rest.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a boy named Derek who is a bully, I force Elizabeth Banks’ son to take FULL blame for what WE do in the movie and even push him to the point of getting borderline expelled.

 

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I would say that it was a miracle, there was a cattle call and I had only auditioned once before – they called us up a week or so later to tell me that I had received the role…one audition for such a big and amazing project is unheard of.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I say that this film is unique because it plays to a different scale than most, in the sense that rather than creating a cheesy last-minute escape to the script, the whole thing plays out smoothly and keeps your emotions tangled within the plot, so every twist and turn that happens, you feel it too.

The film stars Chris Pine, Elizabeth Banks, Michael Hall D’Addario, Michelle Pfeiffer, Olivia Wilde. Mark Duplass, Sara Mornell and Phillip Baker Hall – with Alex Kurtzman onboard as director- what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Well out of the people on-set that you mentioned I only came face to face in meeting Michael Hall D’Addario and Alex Kurtzman and I have to say that It was a pleasure to meet them. Michael was really funny and Alex Kurtzman is possibly one of the most inspiring directors that I have met so far. I don’t have a ‘BEST’ experience on set because the whole time was GREAT.

Let’s talk a bit about you DJ. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

Well I’ve actually always wanted to be in the industry ever since I went to the cinema for the first time to see ‘Harry Potter’, I kind of thought it would be magical to be on the big screen….pun intended.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Well I’m not going to repeat what everyone says like “don’t give up” or “never stop believing”. I’m just going to say that make sure you want it, and if you do, work as hard as you can to get it.

You’ve been in a number of different films and TV series – which actors/actresses have been your favorites to work with and why? Any good stories?

My favourite actor to work with would have to be Will Smith, reason? He is really nice and a great person to work with in general, but also because I’ve always wanted to meet him ever since I was kid…but I am still a kid now haha.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Well, I’m not BIG on downloading a bunch of songs and only listening to them once, so I just listen to “today’s hits” on Pandora radio. But I can tell you that my favourite band is the Gorillaz.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

I would have to choose Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King Jr and Chuck Norris. Reason? Just because I would like to see them debate at the dinner table. It would seem like an interesting conversation/and or debate.

If you could choose a literary character to will into existence, who would you choose and why?

I would choose Sherlock Holmes because I would have him prove me right all the time…even when I’m wrong.

What’s coming up for you in 2012/13?

I have two films coming out called:

  1. ‘Paranegro Activity’ – a film that I wrote/co-starred/did camera work for that was shot and now is going to be uploaded into film festivals. We are screening this one on December 1st in Hollywood, if you are in town would love to have you as my guest.
  2. ‘Hello Herman’ – a film about the cause/effect of bullies and a boy who took revenge.

Also I actually have a chevy commercial airing currently right now. And a couple of smaller projects that are already in the can.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

