Peet Montzingo – (Star Trek Into Darkness – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to Peet Montzingo about his small role in JJ Abrams new ‘Star Trek’ movie, ‘Star Trek Into Darkness’. Here, Peet talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got into acting in the first place…

MV5BMTM2Njg3ODg5MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjcyNDMyOQ@@._V1._SX214_CR0,0,214,314_Hey Peet. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about the newest Star Trek movie, ‘Star Trek Into Darkness’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding this instalment?

Unfortunately I am unable to share much about the film at this time because of several confidentiality agreements. However, I can tell you that the film-making is amazing and will take viewers by surprise!

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

The character I play is very small – I have a line and talk to a woman in a bar, hence my role title “Bar Patron”. My role is a bit of a comedic relief.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Although it’s a very small part, this production was very specific on who they wanted to cast to make sure the film could be at its full potential. I was sent out to audition for the role, and soon after found out that I had landed it.

How would you say this film is different and unique to the previous instalment? Did you know much about the ‘Star Trek’ franchise before signing on?

I went onto set with a blind eye – I have actually never seen ‘Star Trek’. But I do know that this instalment will be filled with more action and will keep the audience on the edge of their seat.

The film stars Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Benedict Cumberbatch, (playing….John Harrison, ahem), Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, Zoe Saldana, Anton Yelchin, John Cho and Alice Eve – with JJ Abrams onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I have to start with JJ Abrams and say that he is the nicest, most personable director I have ever worked with. He took the time to chat, laugh, and listen to the cast and crew. The cast was great too. The production ran very smoothly and a lot had to do with how everyone got along so well. It was honestly a great production – positive vibes and great people.

Let’s talk a bit about you Peet. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place?

Although many wouldn’t call it “acting”, I was fortunate enough to make my first television appearance when I was two months old. From then on, I was in and out of the entertainment industry up in Seattle, WA until I made it as a contestant on ‘The X Factor’ in 2011. Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul, Nicole Scherzinger and LA Reid were all in agreement that I should move to Hollywood and pursue acting. So, right after my appearance on the show I made my way to Hollywood and have been acting in films, television shows, music videos, and commercials for a living. Although I am keeping busy acting, my main focus is to be a teen heartthrob… before I get to old!

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

First, make sure that it is the only thing you can see yourself doing. If it is, then be prepared for a lot of patience, hard work, and networking. Next, move to Hollywood – it’s where most of the big opportunities are. Know that your friends from back home will have careers, promotions, children, etc… and will post everything in that regard on Facebook for you to see. But don’t let that hinder you. And most important, don’t give up! Remember who you are and why you are in the industry. Take classes, network, and have your weekdays free to audition and set up meetings. With persistence, dedication, and talent, you will have a competitive edge.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

I listen to a lot of “feel good” positive music. Music has a way of lifting the soul, and I want to fill it with good energy. Songs like Jessie J’s “Price Tag”, Jason Mraz’s “I’m Yours”, One Republic’s “Good Life”, and Rihanna’s “Live Your Life” keep me going and happy.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Zac Efron, Justin Bieber and Joe Jonas. They were/are all teen heartthrobs and I would take notes on how they got into that market, and how they handled it. Then I’d tell them to get ready because Peet is on the rise!

Which film was your favourite of 2012 and why?

‘The Hobbit’ is the first film that comes to my mind. It was similar to ‘The Lord of the Rings’ trilogy – calmer yet more compelling. Peter Jackson is an outstanding director, and he blew it out of the park with this prequel.

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

2013 has been a great year already. I booked the lead in an independent film, I’m in negotiations with starting a boy band, joined an Acapella group – (we will be doing shows in the Hollywood and Venice area), and may have booked a pilot or two. There are some other projects that are in the works, but will wait to mention them until they become a little more concrete. To keep updated with my work you can visit my website at: http://www.peetmontzingo.com or “like” my page on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/peetmontzingoofficial.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

