Sabrina Dickens – (Silent Night, Bloody Night: The Homecoming – 2013).

I recently got the chance to talk to Sabrina Dickens about her role in ‘Silent Night, Bloody Night: The Homecoming’. Here, Sabrina talks about how she got involved in the project and how she got into acting in the first place…

MV5BMTk2NjQzNjcyNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzkzNzA4OQ@@._V1._SY314_CR19,0,214,314_Hey Sabrina. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Silent Night, Bloody Night: The Homecoming’.

Hey Matthew, thank you so much for interviewing me.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? 

The story is based on an old Butler house which has been abandoned for years after the death of old Wilfred Butler. Now the grandson Jeffrey is eager to sell it, but someone is killing all trespassers as well as the people of town who are looking to purchase the property along with its cursed past.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the role of Marianne who is the daughter of Wilfred Butler, at only 15 years of age. She is a very troubled girl, and lives a life of just pain and suffering. I won’t say too much, as I don’t want to spoil the story.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

I had worked with James Plumb and Andrew Jones previously on ‘Night Of The Living Dead: Resurrection’, and as they were happy with my performance, when ‘Silent Night Bloody Night’ came along they offered me a part in the film and that’s when I took on the role of Marianne Butler.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Well ‘Silent Night Bloody Night’ has never been remade before, so immediately it will be exciting to see a remake of a horror classic! The film itself is very vague and twisted, so I believe it’ll be different to most predictable, slasher horror movies.

The film stars Adrienne King, your good self, Richard Goss, Sule Rimi, Victor Ptak, Rosemary Smith and Philip Harvey – with James Plumb onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Sadly I never had the honor to meet Adrianne King, but the rest of cast and crew were lovely! There is nothing better than to have a fun and professional group to work with.

Let’s talk a bit about you Sabrina. What made you want to get into the acting industry in the first place? 

Ever since I was 13 I always had a fascination for actors. Seeing them act on-screen, appearing in various types of films, and just being idolized for their talent. Wasn’t long until I watched ‘Jurassic Park’ for the first time and seeing Ariana Richards perform, who was roughly the same age as me at the time, I immediately wanted to be like her, I wanted to be in movies! So I started attending local drama clubs and throughout the years studied Drama and Performing Arts in college and university and here I am! There have been many obstacles through the years, but I have never given up and I don’t intend to anytime soon.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry? 

Network, dedication and never give up. If it is your dream, then do all you can to pursue it! It is a very hard business, but you just need to get out there, gain experience and pretty much market yourself! It’s not always about whom you know, it’s about being in the right place at the right time.

You’ve been in a number of different film and TV projects – which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with so far and why? Any good stories?

I think it is safe to say that I have enjoyed working with all actors/actresses in the past, but the two who stand out to me the most have to be Marcus Carroll whom I worked with him on ‘OAZ: Nan From Hell’ and Sule Rimi who plays as Ben in ‘Silent Night Bloody Night: The Homecoming’. They are those types of people who get along great with everyone and every day on set with them, you are guaranteed it will always full of fun and laughter.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

Far too many songs! But my mostly played song at the moment has to be Jason Derulo – The Other Side.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

It would have to be: Barry Pepper, whom I’ve been a fan of since I was a kid, Brittany Murphy who was an amazingly talented actress and Leslie Nielsen, who was probably one of the funniest comedians of all time!

If you could choose a literary character to will into existence, who would you choose and why?

Lara Croft. She is intelligent, athletic and sexy. She lives a life of luxury and every day for her is a new adventure. Who wouldn’t want a life like that?!

What’s coming up for you in 2013?

I am soon to be filming ‘Blaze Of Gory’ late this summer and shooting in Tuscany ‘The Secret of Botticelli’ starring Eve Mauro and Nick Mancuso, which will be an amazing experience!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

