Lisamarie Kakuya – (How To Stop Being A Loser – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Lisamarie Kakuya about her role in ‘How To Stop Being A Loser’. Here, Lisamarie talks about the film in general and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Lisamarie. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘How To Stop Being A Loser’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Lovely story about a simple man, a dork! Who just doesn’t know how to understand women until the great womanizer comes along and teaches him the shady art of seduction, and he starts to question himself about what he really wants!!!

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the two halves of a loved up couple.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I would say it’s definitely a comedy with quite a bit of quirkiness.

The film stars Richard E. Grant, Colin Salmon, Billy Murray, Gemma Atkinson and Keeley Hazell – with Dominic Burns onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

The cast were lovely especially Simon Phillips and Craig Conway! Also I found the director Dominic Burns to be such an inspiring and enthusiastic young man.

Let’s talk a bit about you Lisamarie. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?…

By pure chance really! My sister who was in the Red Riding Trilogy with Sean Bean encouraged me to go down to acting classes with a casting director, and from that moment on I enjoyed myself tremendously so I kept going weekly !!! I found everything such fun just stepping into different characters!!! A new passion!!! A new outlet!

What advice would you give to anyone who wants to pursue a career in the industry?

Definitely keep your feet on the ground and keep a sense of realism as this is a very hard industry and you are like bait to sharks! Keep your daytime job, and do this in your own pace! It’s so hard meeting genuine people as actors are always acting! There are so many talented brilliant people out there but I always believe it’s who you know and whether you are in the right place at the right time. Just enjoy!!!!!

In a completely unrelated piece of film news, ‘Tower Heist’ has been in the news recently because of a proposed idea that new films should be made available to people in their own homes at a rental price – do you think this is a good or a bad idea?

I think it’s a great idea! Most important word here is convenience!

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Adagio For Strings “Barber”. Simply beautiful and inspiring!

If you could invite three guests to a dinner – (living or dead) – who would you choose and why?

It would have to be Elvis Presley, as he was definitely the man who changed music forever! Madonna! Pure icon and brilliant business woman, and then I would take a homeless person and give them the best dinner of their life!!!!

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

I have a few things in the pipeline! But I would so much love to explore my writing side, so I think I will concentrate on that this year!

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisamarie Kakuya
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 20:57:59

    Thanks Matt!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Check Out The Archive!