Justine Cotsonas – (Last Night – 2010).

I recently got the chance to have a quick interview with Justine Cotsonas to talk to her about her acting career. Here, Justine talks about her role in recent film ‘Last Night’, and what’s coming up for her in 2011…

Hey Justine. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. ‘Last Night’ has just finished it’s UK cinema run and will be coming to DVD soon. The story follows a married couple, who are apart for a night. The husband is taking a business trip with a colleague to whom he’s attracted to. While he’s resisting temptation, his wife encounters her past love.

May seem a weird question – but what with the subject of the film being ‘adultery’ – do you think all married couples are prone to temptation?

I think anyone is prone to it. We’re all human. The issue becomes more about willpower than temptation.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the film…

Let’s just say Maggie is an acquaintance of Keira Knightley’s character and discovers her in a compromising position.

Sam Worthington, Eva Mendes and Keira Knightley are all in the film – what was it like working with them on-set?

I primarily worked with Keira; she’s such a lovely person — absolutely radiant and charming and a real, friendly, down-to-earth girl. I adore her.

Let’s talk a bit about you Justine. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve always had a wild imagination and a number of different aspirations in terms of what I wanted to be when I grew up; acting lets me explore all of that. And when I was about eleven, I saw an Audrey Hepburn movie for the first time. That was that.

What does a Justine Cotsonas day usually consist of?

Actors’ schedules are so varied from day-to-day, there’s very little that’s “usual” about one. If I’m not running around to auditions or on set, I do a lot of reading and writing, watching movies, a lot of walking – preferably through and around Central Park – and spending time (creative and otherwise) with my friends. I tend to be a bit of a night owl, and am working very hard to reverse that. Waking up early to fit in some yoga is such a great start to the morning.

You were on the TV show ‘As The World Turns’ – what do you think it was about the show that made it so popular? What was it like being part of it?

‘As The World Turns’ was on the air for over fifty years before I showed up; the audience grew up with those beloved characters and their families and the ever-evolving, compelling storylines. I’ll always be proud to have been a part of it, and I will always cherish the time I spent and memories I made there.

What has been the most memorable moment / experience of your career so far?

I definitely signed a non-disclosure agreement for that one. Instead, I’ll mention the overnight shoot I just had on a film called ‘Rebellious Children of the Unconscious’ which involved the East Side Drive-In in Austin, Texas, a joyous group dance number, and a rain machine.

You’ve just finished work on ‘The Stand Up’ and ‘Rhymes With Banana’ – what can you tell us about these projects?

‘The Stand Up’ stars Aidan Quinn, Margarita Levieva, and Jonathan Sollis, who is such a heart-wrenching and hilarious new talent. He plays a former stand-up comedian who has to regroup and take a step in a different direction after a tragedy. ‘Rhymes With Banana’ was possibly the funniest, most energetic and most complete script I’ve ever read, written by the brilliant Joe Muszynski and Christina Mengert, with an awesome cast, including Zosia Mamet, Paul Iacono, Jee Young Han, and Jaleel White.

What else is coming up for you in 2011?

I’ve just wrapped ‘Rebellious Children’, and am now shooting two films called ‘Syrup’ and ‘The Toss Up’ in July. I’m also constantly working on projects with friends.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Guest
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 15:02:56

    Justine is a wonderful talent…looking forward to watching these films!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Check Out The Archive!