Jodi Sadowsky – (Chained – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Jodi Sadowsky about her role in ‘Chained’. Here, Jodi talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Jodi. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Chained’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Bob a cab-driving serial killer stalks his prey on the city streets. He abducts 9-year old Tim and his mother. The mother is killed. Tim is kept as a chained slave, forced to bury the bodies of the women Bob drags home. A reluctant protégé Tim must make a life or death choice between following in Bob’s footsteps or breaking free from his captor.

Tell us a bit about your character and involvement in the movie…

I play the ‘Bound Woman’, a victim of Bob (the serial killer). I can be seen watching TV with Bob and Tim. I won’t tell you what we’re watching, but it’s intense. And yes I am ‘bound’ as the ‘Bound Woman’.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I’m an actress living in Regina, Saskatchewan and so often audition for the films being shot in the province. On this particular film however I was also a reader during the audition process. Therefore I was fortunate enough to be able to be in the room with Jennifer Lynch during these auditions. As an actor, I find that being a reader is a great learning experience. It is also very informative in terms of ones own auditioning and the process that goes along with that. It was great fun to be apart of this particular auditioning process. Jennifer Lynch has a great personality, is funny and laid back. She makes everyone feel welcome – a great thing to feel in an audition. I was truly honored when I was offered a role, it was unexpected, very unexpected.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I’ve not seen the actual movie yet I’ve only read the script. Lots can change from written script to edited movie. However from the script, it’s very dark. There were moments that I actually had trouble reading. It is frightening as well, but not in a graphic sense. What the audience is left to imagine that’s what makes it frightening. Less is often more. It also shows how a monster is created and why he does what he does. I’m really looking forward to seeing the final film.

The film stars Vincent D’Onofrio, Eamon Farren, Julia Ormond, Gina Philips, Jake Weber, Conor Leslie, Evan Bird and Shannon Jardine – with Jennifer Lynch onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I was on set with Vincent D’Onofrio and Eamon Farren. They were both very kind and professional to work with. Made me feel very safe and at ease. Jennifer Lynch was also great to work with, as was the crew.

Let’s talk a bit about you Jodi. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I love imagination, make believe, storytelling and creativity. I love stepping into the shoes of another person for a short period of time. Thinking their thoughts, feeling what they feel, exploring their attitudes and beliefs. Seeing how far I can go, deep into the truth of the character.

In terms of film work, I love the possibilities that film and that technology presents. From production to shooting to editing to the final result, it can change and grow so much. The skies the limit and its fantastic!

For theatre, it’s the live audience and the immediate response one gets from that interaction with the audience. As they watch and follow the journey and story of the characters on the stage. It’s the sense that anything can happen at any given moment…and given its live, you have to run with it!

Plus its just plain fun! It doesn’t feel like work. I find myself thinking many times, “really, I get paid to do this!” That is the ultimate. That’s when you know you’re living a dream.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

Be persistent and stick with it especially through the doubts and fears. Don’t give up. Or if you do give up, and fall down for a while, have a rest, then find a way to get back up. Kick your own butt. Do what you need to do to keep yourself inspired and your creatively alive. Take workshops, read books, plays, see movies and watch theatre – as much as you can. Also take time for yourself. Find a way to nurture yourself as well as your creativity. Let things consume you when they need to, but also learn to step back, step away, see what the rest of life has to offer as well. Travel, see the world, plant a garden, take a yoga class, get married, have kids, do what you need to do. Follow your own heart. Don’t try to live someone else’s dream or what you think the dream ‘should’ look like. Find your own dream. Be content with that. Don’t compare yourself to others. It hurts too much. Find what’s great about you. Learn from your mistakes. Beat yourself up if you must…for a time then let it go, learn and move on. Trust yourself. Trust your instincts. If you don’t trust them, learn how to, even if it takes a lifetime. Always keep pursuing, keep dreaming, keep challenging yourself. Rest when you need to. Again, be persistent. Stick with it.

You’ve had a number of roles in different films and TV series – which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with and why? Any good stories?

I’ve always had good experiences working on the films and TV series I’ve been involved in. In terms of my favorites….I had a blast working on ‘Hard Core Logo II’ as Nurse Lilly, a nurse in a psych ward where Care Failure is supposed to be. In the scene I was acting across from Bruce McDonald himself. It was a short scene partly scripted, partly improvised. Unfortunately the scene was cut from the movie so no one will ever see it, but I assure you it was great fun!

I also had a wonderful time acting in the kid’s movie ‘Vampire Dog’. It was my first lead role in a film. It was also cast with 90% Saskatchewan actors. To be acting in a movie with so many talented people from within the community I live was a very cool, unique and exciting experience!

As well, a lot of the work I’ve done to date film wise has been in Saskatchewan. I always love and enjoy being on set with a Saskatchewan crew. They are wonderful to work with.

What’s currently on your I-Pod right now?

I don’t own an I-Pod. Not my thing…but I recently downloaded from ITunes to my computer Adele’s CD ’21’.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

  • Shakespeare – is that too cliché? I love the language, poetry and depth.
  • Buddha – he knows a thing a two. I like his style. I could learn a lot.
  • My nephew Joseph – he’s one year and two months, the first grandchild of the family. Stole my heart and makes me ‘almost’ want to have kids. For now I’ll stick to being a brilliant and loving aunty!

You’re stuck on a desert island, you’re only allowed three personal things with you – what would you choose and why?

Call me practical but I’d bring:

  • Axe – to build shelter – (like the Swiss Family Robinson of course).
  • Matches – to start a fire so I could cook and keep warm.
  • Number 3….ummmm…not sure….how about a Pema Chodren book so I could reflect on the Buddist teachings, learn to forgive myself and others, become one with the world…

I figure if I’m alone on a desert island going to have a lot of time on my hands…best make good use of it…especially if no one is coming to save me…I’m sure I’ll laugh at this response when I read it again later…

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’m off to New York City. First time ever. Part business, part pleasure. I’m going to tour the city and do touristy things of course. Plus I’m going to audit an acting workshop with renowned acting coach, Larry Moss – (http://larrymoss.org/). I can’t wait! Even though I’ll only be auditing – (versus participating as an actor), I know it will be amazing! I will learn a lot! And Larry Moss is the kind of teacher a person can study with many times! So I’ll apply again and next time I will be participating!

I’m also in the process of researching and preparing for a role I’ll be playing in May 2013 at The Golden Apple Theatre (http://www.goldenappletheatre.com/) in my hometown, Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. The play is titled ‘Kafka’s Monkey’, based on ‘A Report To An Academy’ by Franz Kafka, adapted by Colin Teevan. Synopsis: imprisoned in a cage and desperate to escape, Red Peter, a former ape, reveals his rise through the ranks of the beasts to become a walking, talking, spitting, smoking, hard-drinking man of the stage. It’s going to be intense and amazing too. I look forward to the journey and exploration of this character greatly! Side note: Kathyrn Hunter portrayed this role at the Young Vic in London. Now I’m excited to step into the as well role in its Canadian premiere!

I’m also looking forward to the video release of the kid’s movie ‘Vampire Dog’ in which I have a lead role as Susan (http://www.jokerfilms.com/Movies/VampireDog.html). I look forward to sharing it with every kid I know! It’s a fun family movie and kids love it!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a comment

Check Out The Archive!