Will De Meo – (Life Just Is – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Will De Meo about his role in ‘Life Just Is’. Here, Will talks about how he got involved in the project in the first place and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Will. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Life Just Is’.

The pleasure is all mine. Thank you for seeking me out!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The film is a frank portrayal of the trials and tribulations of five University graduates, who are, let’s say, having some difficulty moving into the next stage of life.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the role of David. He is a sensitive guy who is very much focused outside of himself. He is the one who is trying to create harmony within the group, and is set on trying to help others through their issues. He deflects the attention off himself by constantly looking into those close to him, and in doing keeps his issues deep down and hidden away from others. Nevertheless, a decent guy with a good heart.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I flew back to the UK from NYC, where I currently live, for a friend’s wedding and my agent told me about this film. Thankfully I was granted an audition and they offered me the role soon after. I was actually at the airport when I was told I had got it, and that pre production was starting a couple of weeks later. It was all a bit of a whirlwind.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

Alex Barrett, the director, was very bold in his use of the camera. He is very much influenced by some of the more obscure but heralded directors of old (many of who I had not heard of till this film!) and he used that to create a feel that is very different to most films you see these days. The camera keeps a certain stillness which allowed us, the actors, a lot of freedom in front of it. Alex very much wanted to show just a piece of life, without too much comment, that creeps under the skin and reveals some stories which aren’t often told.

The film stars your good self, Jack Gordon, Nathaniel Martello-White, Paul Nicholls, Fiona Ryan, Jayme Wisener, Jason Croot and Rachel Bright – with Alex Barrett onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I know it’s a bit of a cliché, but we all got on incredibly well. We were a very tight unit from the word go and had such a good time on set together. I honestly couldn’t have asked for a more entertaining and supportive cast and crew on my very first feature. On the anecdote front, there are so many I can’t reveal for fear of finding a horses head on my pillow, but I can say that if Jack Gordon ever invites you out for a drink and you have something on the following day, or week, just say ‘No’. You’ll thank me for it.

Let’s talk a bit about you Will. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I have always been a fan of cinema. From the age of 6 to around 14 I used to record every film that was on TV – (making sure to pause the recording during the advert break) until I had a library of VHS’s that rivaled, well, a library. I decided at 7 that acting was for me and made a promise not to deviate from that decision. It’s certainly not the easiest industry to work in, but it’s been one hell of a ride so far.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

There is so much advice to be given, but I truly don’t feel I’m at a stage where I should be giving it – maybe in 20 years! Acting teachers often say to develop a thin skin in the work and a thick skin outside of it. That is certainly something to be attained. When you have that down, you’re in a good place. Just let me know how you did it.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

My latest playlist includes Young The Giant, Of Monsters And Men, Walk The Moon, Pigpen, and The Cure. I really love my music and my MP3 player goes wherever I go. I try my best not to be an imaginary drummer on the subway/tube but it’s hard at times.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Tough question. Off the top of my head, I would have to say George Carlin, Bill Hicks and Louis CK. I’d ply them full of alcohol and just sit back and watch. It might get a little aggressive but seeing the greats of comedy riff off each other would be my ideal night. I have an inkling that Mr. Carlin would be a dab hand in the kitchen as well.

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

I honestly haven’t been to most of the places I would like to go. I backpacked a few years ago around Hungary and Croatia, and I had a whole lot of fun. The Croatian coast was especially spectacular. The whole backpacking experience is something I’d like to keep returning to, I love the freedom of it all.

On your off-days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

I do love my lie ins! Catching up on sleep is my first requisite. I’m a bit of a gamer too so some FIFA on the PS3 then definitely a BBQ, if the weather is good, with some close friends.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Well if the Mayans were wrong then hopefully I’ll be pretty busy. As an actor, you can never be quite sure what the future holds in terms of work, but I’m looking forward to whatever comes my way!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a comment

Check Out The Archive!