Joao Gerundo – (Rock Of Ages – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Joao Gerundo about his role in ‘Rock Of Ages’. Here, Joao talks about how he got involved in the project in the first place and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Joao. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Rock Of Ages’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

‘Rock Of Ages’ tells the story of small town girl Sherrie (Julianne Hough) and city boy Drew (Diego Boneta), who meet on the Sunset Strip while pursuing their Hollywood dreams. Their rock ‘n’ roll romance is told through the heart-pounding hits of Def Leppard, Joan Jett, Journey, Foreigner, Bon Jovi, Night Ranger, REO Speedwagon, Pat Benatar, Twisted Sister, Poison, Whitesnake and more.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I am the Andro-Rocker which is a type of rocker who was very common in the 80’s. Andro-Rockers typically have long hair and wear eye liner.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I received a call from a casting director letting me know Adam Shankman (director of ‘Rock Of Ages’) wanted to meet me on the set the next morning. When I arrived in the morning it took a whole day just to select the appropriate outfit and wig for the character I played.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It’s one of those feel good movies. It has drama, music, romance, and comedy. I promise you will want to watch again after you see it!

The film stars Diego Boneta, Dakota Sage Grant, Julianne Hough, Tom Cruise, Matthew Rush Sullivan, Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand and Constantine Maroulis – with Adam Shankman onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

It was great working with everyone. I love Russell Brand’s sense of humour. I remember one of the days filming Russell was making funny faces behind the camera while Alec, Diego and Julianne were filming so as a result they had to cut that scene and film all over again. I couldn’t help but laugh!

Let’s talk a bit about you Joao. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I have always enjoyed acting. I remember when I was growing up people around me would tell me that I should become an actor. I decided to move forward with my acting career when I was cast for ‘Rock Of Ages’. I really like to incorporate a character and essentially become that character.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

It’s not an easy industry. Unfortunately, it’s not what you know but who you know. I wouldn’t advise moving to California unless you have your SAG card or a few credits under your belt. Do not let this stop you from pursuing your dreams of becoming an actor. It’s important to always be optimistic and think positive!

What’s is currently on your I-Pod right now?

A-Ha –Take On Me.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

I would have dinner with Warren Buffet, Steven Spielberg and Tim Burton. Warren Buffet is a true example of someone who loves what he does. He is an investment guru and I would love to learn some of his secrets. Tim Burton and Steven Spielberg are fantastic movie directors who have inspired me in so many ways. They both have incredible creativity . I would love to be in one of their movies.

On your off-days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

Depending on my mood, I’m either catchin’ the prized fish, flying my Cessna or taking my golf game to the next level. I love being creative with my art and stimulating my mind by reading. I’m laid back and one of the easiest people to get along with.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’m working on an as yet “untitled” project by Paramount Pictures which is set to release in 2014. It will be a comedy.

Thanks for the interview!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Loga Gere
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 03:17:24

    Very good interview. I love the bar scene in the trailer. I got to go watch the movie.

    Reply

  2. Jessica Braun
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 03:25:11

    Awesome movie!! Great Interview!

    Reply

  3. Mike Pearson
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 03:30:45

    Big hair was awesome in the 80’s!!

    Reply

  4. Kailey Bing
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 03:37:53

    I thought the broadway version was nicer but this movie sure looks funny. Nice interview.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

