Jordanna Drazin – (Damsels In Distress – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Jordanna Drazin about her role in ‘Damsels In Distress’. Here, Jordanna talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Jordanna. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Damsels In Distress’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The general plotline of the film is about three girls at college who want to rescue their fellow students from depression and low standards of every kind.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I am the flashback version of Violet played by Greta Gerwig. I’m supposed to be a really awkward, shy and nerdy outcast who gets made fun of by other girls because of her last name.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

My manager sent me on an audition, and told me a week later that I got the part!

How would you say this film is different and unique?

This film is different and unique because it does not have a lot of physical action, it is mostly dialogue.

The film stars Greta Gerwig, Carrie MacLemore, Megalyn Echikunwoke, Analeigh Tipton, Ryan Metcalf, Jermaine Crawford and Caitlin Fitzgerald – with Whit Stillman onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Most of the film was finished when I shot my scenes, so I did not get to meet the main characters of the film. I thought the crew was really nice and so were the other girls that were in the same scenes as I was.

Before filming , my Mom called the assistant producer to ask if I should wear my hair a certain way. They said that hair and make up would take care of it when I arrived…which they didn’t. So, the morning of filming I rolled out of bed at 5 a.m. and didn’t even bother to brush my hair. I threw it in a sloppy pony tail but when I got there, they liked my hair the way it was and didn’t change it because I was supposed to look awkward.

Let’s talk a bit about you Jordanna. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

When I was younger, in about third grade, I loved imitating people from bits on YouTube. I would entertain my family and their guests by reciting entire bits by heart. That summer, my Mom signed me up for a local acting camp. I liked the classes so I continued through the year. The director of the school thought I was talented and he sent me to audition for a manager, she signed me and started sending me on auditions.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

I know this sounds cheesy, but you really just have to follow your dreams. If you want something to happen, you have to work towards it.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

I would love to have dinner with Liam Payne, Niall Horan, and Zayn Malik from the band One Direction. Because I LOVE them!

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

I love to go to Aspen, Colorado on vacations because it’s a beautiful place to spend time with my family, in summer or winter.

What is your favourite word?

My favourite word is co-ink-i-dink!

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Nothing . . . yet. Just acting, dancing classes and auditions.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

