Johnny Farrell – (Dead Of The Nite – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Johnny Farrell about his role in ‘Dead Of The Nite’. Here, Johnny talks about how he got involved in the project and how he got into acting in the first place….

Hey Johnny. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Dead Of The Nite’.

Thank you for talking to me today.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The movie is homage to ghostly goings in old mansions with a group of ghost hunters finding much more than they bargained for, a traditional whodunit thriller element and some nasty goings on…..

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play an older, experienced, streetwise detective who has seen it all before and has become tired and disillusioned with the job in general. He has seen it all before and is amused with the rantings of one of the senior officers, Detective Jenkins.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I had worked with SJ last year on ‘Night Of The Living Dead – Resurrection’ and fortunately he remembered me, he contacted me and asked to take part.

In your opinion, what makes this film different and unique?

I think it’s a very good take on a familiar genre but with some great twists and its uniqueness comes from some very dark and subtle comedy.

The film stars Tony Todd, Joseph Millson, Cicely Tennant, Gary Mavers, Claudio Pacifico, Paul Fox, Simon Bamford and Suzi Lorraine – with S.J. Evans onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I only worked with Gary Mavers and Simon Banford in my scenes however Gary is a real joker and he had some very funny off camera dialogue during most of the time I was on set, most of it is unrepeatable though!

Let’s talk a bit about you Johnny. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

It was always my intention from a young age to become an actor but peer pressure from parents, family and friends during the seventies made it virtually impossible to pursue a career in the arts, so I became an electrician and from there drifted into sales, which I did for twenty years or so. It wasn’t until 2002 after being made redundant a few times I started doing some film extra work to make ends meet and fortunately was picked up by a director who got me involved in five years of formal training and working within the industry which, brings me to where I am now.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

I would say that if you want to get into the industry particularly as an actor, get formal or professional training first and learn about and practice the craft as much as humanly possible.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three ‘personal’ things could you not live without?

  1. Mobile phone
  2. Razor
  3. Gold neck chain.

 

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

  1. Spencer Tracy – because he was and still is regarded as one of the greatest screen actors of all time and I would love to get advice from him.
  2. Dr Fred Alan Wolf – because he is one the world’s foremost authorities on quantum physics which I am greatly interested in.
  3. Monica Bellucci – because she is a wonderful actor, beautiful and very, very interesting!

What is your favourite word?

My favourite word is, “YES”.

During off-shoot days, how do you like to kick back and relax?

I usually get out and have some lunch with my wife or a few beers with some close friends.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Well, at the moment I’m on a bit of a re-vamp with a new show called ‘Reel’, new head shots, and a kind of personal spring clean to everything I have in my arsenal, after that, (I’m still auditioning for work as well), we’ll see. That’s why I love the business so much, it’s so opportunist and random.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

