Collin Sutton – (No Saints For Sinners – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Collin Sutton about his role in ‘No Saints For Sinners’. Here, Collin talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Collin. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘No Saints For Sinners’.

Of course Matt any time. I like what you are doing and the venue you have created.

What’s the general plot line surrounding the film?

‘No Saints For Sinners’ follows Mickey, an ex IRA militant who flees Ireland and starts a new life in LA. Leaving his past behind he settles in to a normal life but soon his past ghosts haunt him as a close friend Jimmy pulls him into dangerous situations. Things spiral out of control and Mickey has to resort to his old tactics to keep him and Jimmy alive.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

In ‘Saints’ I play the character of Jimmy. In a nut shell I am a small time drug dealer who thinks I am much bigger than I am. I get in way over my head with some big time thugs and need Mickey to bail me out. This was a fun character to portray because it allowed me to change my look and dig in to my mischievous side. I wanted to bring the humanity to Jimmy to not have him come across arrogant but more pitiful. He’s one of those people we all know who you want to succeed but keeps making wrong choices.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I became involved in the project through Rick Crawford who plays Mickey. Rick and I have collaborated on many films and shared the stage on numerous occasions. He approached me about Jimmy and I of course jumped at the opportunity. I met the director Nathan Frankowski in 2005 when he cast me in a short film called ‘Though You Slay Me’ and since then we have collaborated on eight additional films including ‘Saints’.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

What makes this unique is the fact that it came together as a collaboration of friends who make films and work together as artists. ‘Saints’ blends the human element with the action and that brings to life this story.

The film stars Rick Crawford, Marty Maguire, Kate Tomlinson, your good self, Keith David and Michael Dion Thompson – with Nathan Frankowski onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

The cast and the crew were a pleasure to work with. There were a lot of laughs and there was a lot of hard work. Filming the scene in the meat locker was one of the tougher nights but well worth it. Working with Keith David was a true honour, I got to watch a master at work and learn from him. I also really enjoyed working alongside my beautiful wife Lola Corwin who played the prostitute in the motel scene. We have been fortunate to have opportunities performing in films as well as the stage where Lola outshines me. All the crew on ‘Saints’ did a great job which made my job better. We filmed a lot of scenes during the course of a night which always brings challenges. Over all the collaboration was memorable.

Let’s talk a bit about you Collin. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

Well, interesting enough up until my last year of high school I wanted to be a heavy equipment mechanic and was searching out schools to go to regarding that trade. I had one free class in my last semester and decided to take beginning level drama and ended up in a weekend class at the drama get together. I took “From Getting The Agent To Getting The Job”, and through that I got an agent in Calgary, toured with a theatre company and haven’t looked back since. I moved to LA in 2002 and have been training under Clay Banks while building my resume and raising a family.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

I have two pieces of advice:

  1. Keep Training!
  2. Stick With It!!! The more you do it the better you get and the more your competition quits.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

First I would sit down with Jesus because being a carpenter myself I think we could make one hell of a bookshelf. Second I would have dinner with Daniel Day Lewis, I admire the powerful and commanding characters he brings to life and feel I could learn a lot from him. Third I would hang out with Gary Oldman, because as an actor I strive to be a chameleon that disappears into the character and I feel he has mastered that.

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

Turkey is one of my favourite destinations due to the vast historical ruins and diversity in the country. I was able to spend three months there and would love to go back and explore some more.

What is your favourite word?

Choice is my favorite word because whatever I choose in life I also choose the consequences.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I am currently working as a lead in two features, one is called ‘Idive’ which takes place mostly in and under the water and another called ‘Georgia’ which deals with life’s prejudices. Also in the works is another film with Rick Crawford called ‘Splinter’. I am also working on a film of my own called ‘Mad As A Hat’, which follows the Mad Hatter.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

