Zane Wind – (American Pie: American Reunion – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Zane Wind about his role in ‘American Pie: American Reunion’. Here, Zane talks about what it was like working with Jason Biggs and how he got involved in the project in the first place…

Hey Zane. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘American Pie: American Reunion’. 

What’s the general plotline surrounding this instalment?

The plotline revolves around the main characters from the original ‘American Pie’ movies. Every single character from the original ‘American Pie’ has returned for their high school reunion for one last hurrah. Things have changed for almost every character as most of them have matured into adulthood by getting jobs, having babies and establishing meaningful relationships. But there are also some characters who have not changed since high school. The temptation to party like crazy one last time at the reunion brings up quite an amount of shenanigans leading up to reunion at the dismay of some of the more mature characters and to the delight of mainly the party boy – Stifler. But in the end, the movie brings all these former schoolmates together to show how powerful friendship can be and the importance of staying in contact.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…  

I play Mitch who is the husband of Jim’s former crush Nadia. Pretty much Mitch is a look-alike of Jim suggesting that Nadia married someone who resembles Jim because she always had a crush on him.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? Had you seen any of the ‘American Pie’ films before you signed on?

My agent at Houghton Talent, got me the audition (big props!). I at first auditioned for a drunk kid at a party but the directors Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg thought I would be a good fit for the role of Mitch. I auditioned again for this role and got the part. I have seen all of the movies except for some of the straight to DVD releases. I was in early high school when these movies were really popular so I really identified with them.

How would you say this instalment is different and unique? Why do you think the franchise is so popular?

It’s different and unique because there is a level of maturity and completion to the movie. You can tell everyone wanted to get the ending of this series right. But they still did a good job of keeping that old ‘American Pie’ raunchy humour in there to add excitement. I think the franchise is so popular because it identifies so well with everyone from teenagers and older. We’ve all been in that awkward yet exciting stage where we are beginning to learn about ourselves, the responsibility of impending adulthood and the craziness of sexual attraction. All of the movies stress the importance of friendship and relationships and that’s what everyone in the world desires too.

The film stars Jason Biggs, Alyson Hannigan, Chris Klein, Thomas Ian Nicholas, Tara Reid, Seann William Scott and Mena Suvari – with Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg onboard as directors – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I only got to work with the directors, Jason, Alyson and Shannon Elizabeth. Everyone was professional but easy-going. There wasn’t any stress really. Everyone was having fun. I had a good conversation with Jason because I played Benjamin Braddock in ‘The Graduate’ in local theater while he played the role on Broadway. Also, when I wrapped Jason and both directors gave me a hug. You can tell this was a passion project for them and that made it a very positive experience for me.

Let’s talk a bit about you Zane. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I’ve been associated with the Houghton family since I was a toddler and signed with them when I was very young. I’ve always loved theater and did a lot of it through middle school, high school and into college. Acting has always been a great passion of mine. Now I’m continuing that passion with Houghton full-time and it’s been a great experience.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Networking, determination and passion is very important. It’s a hard career to pursue. You have to stay vigilant by continuing to practice your craft and by meeting as many people as you can.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Johnny Cash, Bobby Cox and Jesus Christ. Cash because we was a badass whose voice just speaks to my soul. Cox because I’m such a huge Atlanta Braves fan and I would love to hear behind the scenes stuff about his coaching and playing career. Jesus because I would love to know what he was like as a man in person. He was such a revolutionary but does that mean he was always serious and focusing on his goals or did he crack jokes at times?

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

Beach. Hands down because it just completely relaxes me.

What is your favourite word?

Water is a cool word. It’s one of those words that will relax anyone.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Right now I work in public affairs for the military at a media company called Encompass Digital Media but I continue to audition whenever I get the chance.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

