Goran Navojec – (Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Goran Navojec about his role in ‘Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol’. Here, Goran talks about what it was like working with director Brad Bird and which three people he would invite to dinner….

Hey Goran. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol’. 

The plotline focuses around the IMF being shut down after it’s implicated in the bombing of the Kremlin, causing Ethan Hunt and his new team to go rogue to clear their organization’s name.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

My character is a burly Russian prisoner. It was hard to work on this character since I am not Russian and not a prisoner, I am only burly. Now, seriously, I was happy to be a part of this project since this is a chance that many actors from USA, Europe and especially from the Balcan region cannot get. It was a great experience being on such a huge set.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

It was very unexpected and accidental. I was at the Sarajevo Film Festival and during one party, agent Anila Gajevic, who is a big fan of my brother Bojan Navojec, (who is also an actor), asked me if I would like to meet the casting director who was doing the auditions for ‘Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol’. When I met the casting director, I was very relaxed, since I thought that it was impossible to get a part in ‘Mission Impossible’. I had no expectations and that’s why I was myself on audition. Casting director and director Brad Bird liked it. So, finally, mission was accomplished.

How would you say this film is different and unique to the whole ‘Mission Impossible‘ series?

It is different to other Mission Impossible films because Goran Navojec and Miraj Grbic aren’t in them.

The film stars Tom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg, Paula Patton, Michael Nyqvist and Vladimir Mashkov – with Brad Bird onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Among all these names you mentioned, I worked on this project only with director Brad Bird. That co-operation with Brad was really great, it seemed like we had worked a lot together in the past. Maybe, the secret is in that he directed a lot of animated films and I very often see myself as a cartoon character.

Let’s talk a bit about you Goran. What made you want to get into the world of film in the first place?

I got into the film because reality was not enough for me.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

I would advise them to stay out of the business so I could have more roles for myself. That was a joke, of course. I would suggest to them to just be themselves.

You’ve been in a number of different TV series and films – who have been your favourite actors/actresses to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

It would take too long to mention all of the dear people I worked with. Since we’re talking about film, I would rather now choose theatre plays. My favourite project to be a part of was Shakespeare’s ‘Hamlet’ where I played Hamlet, produced by Rade Serbedzija and Theatre Ulysses on the beautiful island of Brijuni.  

If you could invite three guests to dinner – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Jesus, Mohammed and Moyses. And then I would leave them alone on dinner to solve some issues between them. It would be better if they can solve their differences since people in the contemporary world are not able to handle each other in a reasonable way.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

I don’t listen to music on an I-Pod since I, as a man who finished secondary music school for saxophone, find that too unserious media for enjoying music. Enjoying music, in my opinion, is a very intimate relationship with one self. It is a matter of moment. I don’t choose music that I listen, I let music choose me.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Since I made six movies in 2011 I expect their premieres in 2012. First will be the film ‘The Parade’ on Berlinale in February. After that I expect premieres of films ‘Shanghai Gypsy’, ‘Step By Step’, ‘Fashion Tension’, ‘Montevideo’, ‘God Blessed You 2’ and ‘Falsifikator’. I hope that next year I will make at least double new movies. Meanwhile, I will be on stage performing in theatre and with my band ‘Karne’ where I play saxophone and sing. I am also preparing a programme for an international theatre festival in my hometown Bjelovar in Croatia which I’m leading as an artistic director.  

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

