Martin Ruskov – (Breaking Wind – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Martin Ruskov about his role in ‘Twilight’ spoof, ‘Breaking Wind’. Here, Martin talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got involved in the project in the first place…

Hey Martin. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Breaking Wind’.

I am very honoured that you have taken your time to find out a little bit about me.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? I understand it’s a comic spoof on the ‘Twilight’ series?

Yes, the movie is based on the latest film of the ‘Twilight’ saga, ‘Breaking Dawn’. It is a very unique parody that surrounds the original movie. Throughout the film, we see how Bella and Edward are taking the next step in their relationship. This has a big impact on everyone around them for better and worse. You will see how as the film progresses everyone who is involved with Edward and Bella react to this big change, in a very comedic way.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Well, I play Seth, who is the youngest werewolf in the tribe. He is very eager to be involved with everything that the other older wolves do. He looks up to Jacob and wants to follow in his footsteps, that’s why he is always trying to do what Jacob does.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

It’s a funny story actually. I originally auditioned for the part of Jasper, one of the vampires. I got a call and was informed that I had gotten the part of Seth the werewolf. So, in essence I auditioned for a vampire, and came out being a werewolf.

How would you say this film is different and unique to both the ‘Twilight’ series and general comedy films?

This film is on a whole different level of funny when it comes to parodies. One of the reasons is that the director, Craig Moss, did a phenomenal job on the film. This film has a very unique way of portraying the storyline, the way the jokes and the material is written is absolutely brilliant.

The film stars Heather Ann Davis, Eric Callero, Frank Pacheco, Michael Adam Hamilton, Alice Rietveld, John Stevenson and Rebecca Ann Johnson – with Craig Moss onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I have to tell you that I had the best time of my life on set, and the reason was because the cast and crew made me feel like we were all a family. I was honoured to be able to work with such brilliant actors. This was my first big movie and I was lucky to share it with all of them. Throughout the film, everyone was supportive and if I ever needed any help with anything they were there. On top of all that, I was very lucky to work with a director like Craig Moss. He was everything that an actor wants in a director, his vision is what made this film a success.

Which team are you – Team Edward or Team Jacob?

I would say I am Team Jacob, I cannot abandon my fellow werewolves.
 
Let’s talk a bit about you Martin. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I have always wanted to be able to portray different characters. With acting I can do just that, I am able to be whom ever I like to be and it brings me so much joy. I feel like I have multiple lives when I play a different character and it’s just an amazing feeling.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

If you want to get into this industry, you need to believe in yourself. You will hear a lot of things from different people, but you always have to keep pushing until you have what you want. The most important thing is to keep at it, if you fall down just get up and keep following your dream and one day you will achieve what ever it is you want.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

I would have to say:

  1. Charlie Chaplin, I admire him as an actor and I would love to be able to sit down with him and get to know him. I feel like I would learn so much from just one person.
  2. Chris Farley, this man has inspired me with every single one of his movies. I would be honoured to be able to have dinner with this man and learn from his teachings.
  3. Arnold Schwarzenegger, this man is like a giant ball of positive energy and that is why I admire him so much. I admire his entire career all the way from his bodybuilding days. I love to have more insight of his positive attitude towards life.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

I have a wide variety of genres, ranging from techno, and trance to hip-hop and R&B. I like music that will fill me with energy and also music that will relax and make me think.

What is your favourite word?

It would have to be “blissful” – the word itself is relaxing. I like to have a positive outlook for everything in life and when I hear or use this word it fills me with joy and happiness.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Well, I know that this year has taken a very good start and I hope that it will continue to go up hill from here on out. I hope to be able to broaden my skills even more and have a chance to work with more inspiring actors and directors.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

