Laura Nordin – (Irvine Welsh’s Ecstasy – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Laura Nordin about her role in ‘Irvine Welsh’s Ecstasy’. Here, Laura talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and which three people she would invite to dinner…

Hey Laura. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Irvine Welsh‘s Ecstasy’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The general plotline of the film is Heather Thompson (Kristin Kreuk) seeks a change in her life because she’s frustrated with her loveless marriage. At a club, she meets happily-partying Lloyd Buist (Adam Sinclair), a drug addict who is in debt to a drug dealer – Solo (Carlo Rota). Heather falls hard for Lloyd despite the fact that most of their time spent together is under the influence of illicit substances (mostly ecstasy). As they experiment with this new lifestyle, they are faced with the question of whether they love their drugs, each other, or are just drugged into loving each other. The subplot of Lloyd owing money to Solo wreaks havoc with their lives and it gets really messy.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Jenny, an ad-exec who is having an affair with Heather’s husband Hugh (Dean McDermott).

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I sent my audition tape to Rob – (Rob Heydon, the director). I had only two days notice to work on my Scottish dialect, put it on video and send it in. It was a fast turn around and so much fun.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

The story in itself is a very different take on girl meets boy through the use of drugs. It’s heartfelt, raw, and challenging. The soundtrack is great, too.

The film stars Adam Sinclair, Kristin Kreuk, Billy Boyd, Carlo Rota, Ashley Pover, Keram Malicki-Sanchez and Olivia Andrup – with Rob Heydon onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

The cast and crew were a blast to work with. Working with Dean McDermott was wonderful. He’s generous and really funny. He kept saying “Rob needs to write another scene for us so we can work together more”. Rob is so focused and really clear with his direction, just fantastic to work with. The rest of the cast and crew were so genuine and fun. I did this sexy photo shoot and all the costume, hair, and makeup women helped me with my poses and we had a lot of laughs. I felt so well cared for and everyone was there because they were excited to be there. It was such a positive and professional vibe. I got a chance to meet Irvine Welsh, I was so nervous. He was so gracious, unassuming, and easy to talk with. He said to me as we were going to lunch “you sound like you’re from the Highlands”, I blushed. It meant a lot to me that he thought my dialect was passing for genuine.

Let’s talk a bit about you Laura. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I love to tell stories, I love meeting new people and being part of a community of artists creating a story together. It’s such a fun ride, the adrenaline gets pumping and I feel so alive and present. It’s an exhilarating experience every time. There’s such a fantastic connection between the people working together on set. I might not see them for months or years after we wrap, but when we bump into each other again it’s like no time has passed because we share a common experience. I never get tired of it.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

You better love it with all your being because it takes over your life. Seriously though, create a good work/life balance. Be able to take criticism well and do not let it make or break your day. If someone doesn’t like your work, it’s not a personal attack. If you can really believe that then you’ll always be okay no matter how the audition went or how the show got reviewed because you’ll keep growing and learning. It’s a job, but a job you gotta love because there are lots of ups and downs. There are no short cuts, so put in the time to do the work, practice practice practice, and have fun.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Meryl Streep just seems like she would be so much fun to talk with. She’s so consistent in her work and in her life. She seems really genuine. Albert Einstein because we share the same birthday! He’s such an iconic figure, so brainy, and yet a prankster… I’d love to experience what he’s really like in person, his sense of humour, and also to ask him what he thinks of the world now with all this technology literally in the palms of our hands…I would just want to listen to him talk and entertain us all night. And, Peter Jennings. He saw and experienced so much. He spoke and wrote beautifully. I’d love to hear more about his personal experiences.

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

Hawaii. I’ve been 9 times, excessively wonderful. It’s tranquil yet full of places to explore. Great food and people. It’s relaxing and visually stunning. I love the weather!

What is your favourite word?

Ineffable.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’ve been approached to star in a feature film. It’s in development and dependent on funding so at the moment I’m enjoying being asked to act without having to audition. I play a vampire in a wonderful short film, ‘The Offering’, that was filmed on actual 35mm film, a rare treat. It’s the last film that Kodak will develop in Toronto. It’s currently in post-production and I hope it will have a great festival run.

I’ll be acting in a new play this summer called ‘Fierce Monsters’, it’s an exciting work about two woman hiding out after a fatal stampede during the Gold Rush. I’m also writing a web-series that I’ll be starring in, but that’s a side project that will probably come out in the fall.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

