Austin Michael Scott – (Breaking Wind – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Austin Michael Scott about his role in new Twilight spoof, ‘Breaking Wind’. Here, Austin talks about how he got involved in the project and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Austin. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Breaking Wind’.

You’re welcome! Thanks for getting in contact with me over here in the States!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? I understand it’s a comic spoof on the ‘Twilight’ series?

‘Breaking Wind’ is a hilarious, way lower budget take on the plot of ‘Twilight: Eclipse’ with a little bit of ‘Breaking Dawn’ towards the end. And of course Craig Moss loves to parody other stuff as well, so naturally there’s some Johnny Depp in there too.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Austin the Noob Vampire, one of Ronald’s followers. We are newborn vampires looking for Bella. It was the first movie I’ve been in where I haven’t had to wear glasses!

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I played the parody of McLovin in Craig Moss’s first film ‘The 41 Year Old Virgin Who Knocked Up Sarah Marshall And Felt Superbad About It’, and became great friends with him. The next year he gave me a small role in his second film, ‘Bad-Ass’, starring Danny Trejo and something occurred to me. I wanted to be the Clint Howard of Craig Moss films. So here we are, going on three Craig Moss films, and I’m in them all! I’m honoured.

How would you say this film is different and unique to both the ‘Twilight’ series and general comedy films?

In terms of plot, it’s very similar to ‘Eclipse’ and even directly pulls lines from the movie…with a little Craig Moss twist on them. But it’s VERY different, in terms of raunchy, sexual humour. If you’re watching a Craig Moss parody, you better expect some raunch.

The film stars Heather Ann Davis, Eric Callero, Frank Pacheco, Michael Adam Hamilton, Alice Rietveld, John Stevenson and your good self – with Craig Moss onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

Working with the cast and crew of this film was great. Everybody that ever gets on a Craig Moss set is about as cool as you can get. I also got to work with my beautiful wife, Ashley Martin, who plays Ashley the Noob Vampire. She’s in the same scenes as me. She made a brief appearance in ‘The 41 Year Old Virgin’ as the girl who walks out of Bryan Callen’s stand-up show. The craziest moment of filming, by far, was when the newborn vampires had to come out of the lake. We all had tons of clothes on, along with kids floaties, and they wanted us, on “Action”, to duck under the water and then come up… with the floaties on. After a few takes we had to deflate the floaties to be able to duck under. Every time we came up we’d have green stuff all over us in our mouths and stuff. It took about six or seven takes to get it right. They just kept telling us to get back in the water. I’m laughing thinking about it right now…it was hilarious.

Which team are you – Team Edward or Team Jacob?

Team Edward. Only reason being that Eric Callero is one of my buddies. We go back to ‘41 Year Old Virgin’ days. He’s a cool kid… and he portrays just the right amount of ‘angst’ in this film.

Let’s talk a bit about you Austin. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

I wanted to be an actor since I was a kid, which actually, funny enough, stemmed from a short stint as a ballet dancer. Growing up in Orlando, FL there wasn’t much work besides commercial stuff. I made the rounds in the local commercial scene for a while before landing a hosting job on a live Nickelodeon show in ’04… then I moved out to Los Angeles with one of my co-hosts. I thought LA would be easy having some reel and resume behind me, but I had no idea. There were guys that looked like my twin with an even bigger reel and resume. It was so intimidating… but I have quite the drive. I knew I’d do whatever it took to stay out here… and eight years later, here I am, married, happy, and fully employed by the film/TV industry. Love it.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Perseverance and determination are your best friends. It will take longer than you think to succeed. But everyone who wants it enough and is passionate enough will achieve it. Always try to pursue your own projects, whether you want to act, write, direct, whatever. These days with lower production and post costs, it’s way easier to produce your own projects. Stay proactive, and always have the end in sight… massive stardom.

I noticed something of interest on your IMDB listing – not only are you an actor but you also do various editing jobs on different TV and film projects. What made you want to get into this part of the industry and what do these jobs entail?

I got into film editing as a way to approach the industry from another direction… I only want to be involved in TV/film as a career… I never wanted to wait tables. I fell into post-production via a good friend who saw a job opening where he worked. Eventually I learned the ropes and learned how to actually edit. You can learn so much about the industry just from editing… what good shots look like, good takes… it makes it way easier to learn about acting, directing, and cinematography when you know what doesn’t work. Editing is a LOT of work… but I love it!!

Last year Craig had me edit a preliminary trailer for ‘Bad-Ass’. He thought I did a great job evidently, because right before ‘Breaking Wind’ principal photography commenced, he asked me if I’d be up for editing the entire film. So this is the first project I’ve ever done that I’ve acted in AND edited. I also edited the trailer that you’re probably posting at the bottom of this page. J

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

One of my driving reasons behind being in Hollywood and pursuing filmmaking is the idea of massive, radical change through media. That being, these are the people I’d die to have even a snack with:

  • Stanley Kubrick – my favourite all-time movie director. His films were always so controversial… which really made me realize that controversy is one of the main driving forces behind real change.
  • Salvador Dali – my favorite artist and one of the godfathers of surrealism. He had the ability to show the viewer that not everything is what it seems… that reality is a manifestation of the mind.
  • Ron Paul – the bravest, most intelligent US politician in modern history. I am a huge supporter and have been working for his grassroots campaign for quite some time. Our mainstream media is pretty biased, and many blatantly disregard or ignore Ron Paul during political coverage because of his views. He is one of the bravest souls I have ever seen… to speak out against the military-industrial complex, the Federal Reserve, and the endless wars that are bankrupting our country. It brings tears to my eyes sometimes how much truth he is speaking and how it is laughed at. But more and more people now are responding to his message of liberty, and I and many are hopeful that his campaign will end up winning him the Republican nomination, and/or the Presidency come November.

What is your favourite word?

Conspiracy. Because these days as soon as people say it they can write things off as wacky fiction.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

In terms of acting, I’ll have a part in Craig’s next film currently titled ‘Tick-Tock’ . Shooting begins in a couple of weeks. With editing, I’m currently working for numerous development companies and producers to sell show ideas, which is my main source of employment, and I’m also set to begin editing on a new syndicated TV conspiracy/alien show called ‘Unsealed’ in a couple of months… my favourite subject! I’ll keep you updated when it comes out.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

