Juan Piedrahita – (Wanderlust – 2012).

I recently got the chance to talk to Juan Piedrahita about his role in ‘Wanderlust’. Here, Juan talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how he got into acting in the first place…

Hey Juan. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Wanderlust’.

I’m honoured, thank you.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

It’s a comedy about a couple who leaves the pressures of the big city life and stumble upon a hippy/counterculture type commune where the only rule is to be yourself…hmmmmm??

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I was stretched out of my comfort zone for this one, I played Paco the latino employee haha.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

My agents at Houghton Talent set me up an audition with the Fincannons who were casting the film. I honestly thought I had bombed the audition…go figure! You just never know.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It is really funny and awkwardly shocking; in your FACE comedy! You’ll understand why once you get to see it…though silly at times you’ll leave the theatre questioning your life decisions? Really cool!

The film stars Paul Rudd, Jennifer Aniston, Justin Theroux, Alan Alda, Malin Akerman, Ken Marino and Joe Lo Truqlio – with David Wain onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

AMAZING!! Surreal!! My scenes were with Paul Rudd and Ken Marino (the coolest guy ever), and I have nothing but the nicest things to say about these two great actors!! David Wain was just great! Really focused and zen at all times, didn’t seem to worry about nothing at all…great experience altogether….they were very big on IMPROV and allowed most scenes to run 3x in a row without cutting, waiting to see what MAGIC would happen…I’ve been working on my improv skills ever since.
 

Let’s talk a bit about you Juan. What made you want to get into the industry in the first place?

Well…I had done some acting as a young boy; and stopped once I started high school…I dropped out of college in ’08 and left the busy life of NYC…ended up in the south, I was bored at first so I picked up some acting classes with JD Lewis at the Actors Lab here in Charlotte, North Carolina. It was just for fun at first, been acting ever since.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

GET INVOLVED! One way or another…say YES to every opportunity! Intern, be an extra, audition for your local theatre, take acting classes! Whatever it is ….”a mighty flame follows a tiny spark” – Dante.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

LOTS! Umm, lately I’ve been cycling from 2pac to Grupo Niche, Rey Gordiflon, Mark Anthony, Black Sabbath, War, Incubus…

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Jim Carrey DEFINITELY! , Salvador Dali is just soooo interesting! and Marilyn Monroe so I can flirt with, plus she is extremely intelligent, love her!! Them three! Can you imagine?

What is your favourite word?

CAKER!  As a young boy I made up this word to insult my younger brother; my mother doesn’t speak good English but for some reason she knew ALL the curse words, she would flip out if she caught us cursing. My brother recently reminded me of it!! I literally “LMFAO”.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Just finished an awesome web series called ‘Social Anxiety!’ – www.socialanxietytheseries.com, and I’m currently in the rehearsal process of a great play called ‘The Pot’ about race and immigration, opens in April and in May I’m also shooting a short film called ‘The Watch’.

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Juan montes
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 10:56:31

    Yo jp im a blast from your past back in 81 st screw dblock lol just saw the movie and it took me 2 min to look past the stache lol at first me and jean said jessie. First i recall you ever talking about being involved in film was law and order in astoria blvd lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

