Veena Sood – (50/50 – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Veena Sood about her role in ’50/50′. Here, Veena talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Veena. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ’50/50′.

You’re welcome. Thank you for asking. 

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Inspired by a true story, the comedy centres on a 27-year-old guy who learns of his cancer diagnosis, and his subsequent struggle to beat the disease. ’50/50′  is a film about a young man (Adam) who is struggling with cancer, and how all the people in his life respond to his news of his illness. He remains the strong one, whilst everyone else seems to fall apart.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I have a small role, playing one of the nurses that attends to Adam the night before his life-changing surgery. 

How would you say this film is different and unique?

The fact that it’s a wry, humourous look at how people deal with someone with cancer, is very unusual. It takes a refreshing look at how those relationships are affected.

The film stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Seth Rogen, Anna Kendrick, Bryce Dallas Howard, Anjelica Huston, Serge Houde and your good self – with Jonathan Levine onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes to tell? 

As it’s a true story, based on Will Reiser’s own story – (he wrote the screenplay), everyone really committed to the truthfulness of the story. All the actors were very dedicated to the success of their performances on-screen. It’s a small independent film with a big heart, and the emotional investment was high.

Let’s talk a bit about you Veena. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve known since I was 14 years of age, that acting was my passion. I geared towards living that dream from high school onwards; studying my BFA in Drama at University, and going on from there to form theatre companies, and pursue working in film and TV.

You’ve been in a number of different TV series and films – which actors/actresses have been your favourite to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of? 

I always love working on smaller independent projects – they are less pressure than the big blockbusters, and usually the storylines involve a lot more input from the actors. My particular favourite was the Canadian independent film ‘Touch Of Pink’ written and directed by Ian Rashid.  The film stars Jimi Mistry and Kyle McLachlan.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why? 

Larry Moss – a wonderful acting coach, and fascinating person to simply listen to,  my grandfather who is now passed on, and Steve Jobs.

If you were stranded on a desert island – what three things could you not live without

My loving partner, a lighter, and someone to cook me delicious meals out of what nature offers!

What is currently on your I-Pod right now? 

I became inspired again this year to listen to more music. I’ve downloaded so many new current songs (I love pop music and pop culture). I have also a complete range of jazz, pop and Top 40 classical. I also watch a lot of movies on my iPod when travelling – whatever’s current. 

What’s coming up for you in 2012?   

I’m rehearsing and performing a play in Toronto, Canada in March; ‘My Granny The Goldfish’.  It’s a comedy – I’ll be playing a crazy alcoholic Mom who’s son is in hospital. 

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

