Irene Azuela – (Miss Bala – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Irene Azuela about her role in ‘Miss Bala’. Here, Irene talks about how she got involved in the project and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Irene. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Miss Bala’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? 

It’s the story of a young girl from the north of the country who gets caught by the organized crime in Mexico, not knowing who they are, what they want from her and what she’s supposed to do in order to get out of the terrible situation.
 
Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie… 

I play Jessica, the girl who has always dreamed of being the winner of a beauty pageant, and has always done what’s needed in order to get it.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

Gerardo called me and said “I’d like you to be part of the movie. I know it’s a character you wouldn’t normally do, but I’m inviting you to play a game with me. To be as different as you are”. I liked the proposal. Especially because I find Gerardo really authentic and talented as a movie director.

How would you say this film is different and unique? 

It’s unique for its narrative. For taking us on a trip commanded by Laura (Stephanie S) without understanding what’s going on. The sequence shots are amazing and very eloquent.

The film stars Stephanie Sigman, Noe Hernandez, your good self, Jose Yenque and James Russo – with Gerardo Naranjo onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes to tell? 

I just shared scenes with Stephanie and they were of great fun. 

Let’s talk a bit about you Irene. What made you want to get into acting in the first place? 

Acting was the only option. I had done theatre during high school and enjoyed it very much, then I spent time in London and I went to many plays. that’s where I made up my mind and decided to study drama. I went back to Mexico, did a one year course then a Postgraduate in Classical Theatre in LAMDA (London Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts).

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry? 

To give yourself time to know if you really love acting. If you don’t, it’s not worth trying. It takes a lot of patience, strength and courage to do it. Playing a character, listening to the other actor and knowing who you are is essential. The rest is a different kind of job.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Freud, so I could cook for him the best dinner and then tell him we could have a psychoanalysis session. Marisa Tomei, she seems to be a great woman, and fun. Freddy Mercury, so we could sing together Bohemian Rhapsody.

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

I love cities and theatre. If I want some of those I would choose London, New York and Buenos Aires.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’m shooting Francisco Franco’s second movie (‘Burn the Bridges’ director), which is beautiful. It’s a story about the theatre and people who works on it. It’s a company which is about to premiere ‘Caligula’ by Albert Camus. It’s great fun!

Then I’ll do theatre (without the camara)…

Thanks for the interview!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. manonmona
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 11:15:57

    Reblogged this on Espacio de MANON.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

