Christiann Castellanos – (In Time – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Christiann Castellanos about her role in ‘In Time’. Here, Christiann talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and what is coming up for her in 2012…

Hey Christiann. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘In Time’. 

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?  

A society in which people don’t age past 25 years old, creates an unfair class system in which the poor literally live day-to-day and the rich can live forever. The story follows Will Salas, a man from the ghetto and Sylvia Weiss, a wealthy heiress on a quest to get away from the time keepers and eventually derail the oppressive system. 
 
Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie… 

I play Jasmine, a woman from the ghetto who is hoping to get a time loan. When she inquires about it at the bank, she is shocked to find that the loan interest is now 30%. As she realizes she will die before being able to pay the loan bank, a large truck slams through the main entrance of the bank which allows her and the other ghetto dwellers to get some free time.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place? 

I had auditioned for a different project with casting director Denise Chamian. She liked what I did, so she brought me in to audition for a few roles in the movie until they found the right fit for me.

How would you say this film is different and unique? 

I really like the concept of time as currency. That’s never been explored before and I think the world Andrew Niccol has created is beautiful and saddening all at once.

The film stars Justin Timberlake, Amanda Seyfried, Shyloh Oostwald, Johnny Galecki and Colin McGurk – with Andrew Niccol onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?  

It was very interesting. Andrew gave us our direction separate from everyone else which made working with him very special. Justin and Amanda were lovely and very focused. The crew had been working for a few months on the movie by the time I came on, but everyone was hard-working and professional despite the fact that they were near the end of the shoot.

Since this film focuses on an economic idea – what are your thoughts on the current economic crisis?

I think it’s unfortunate that some people were just born into a difficult financial situation they may never see themselves out of. I also find greed to be one of the most evil human inventions; I believe it’s one of those human emotions that promotes unhappiness and anger. On the other hand, I can acknowledge that economies go up and down, they just do that. But what I see often in Los Angeles (where I live) is that some people have everything and yet they still want more, and the saddest thing is that they are not happy anyway.

Let’s talk a bit about you Christiann. What made you want to get into acting in the first place? 

Well, I started acting when I was about twelve. I had the kind of childhood where I was not allowed to watch a lot of TV, so I spent a lot of time entertaining myself by playing make-believe. When I discovered acting, I was like “Yes! I’ve been doing this all along anyway, I can’t believe this can be a career!”As I got older, I questioned my path, but I was urged to move to L.A. by my two favourite acting teachers, so I moved because I trusted their advice.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to pursue a career in the industry?

I would say, be realistic with yourself as to why you want to do this. If you are in it for “fame and fortune” you might eventually find yourself very confused. This is a difficult business with many lows (as well as highs) and a superficial goal may not be enough to motivate you when you’re eating pasta everyday, you don’t have an agent, and everyone’s asking you: “Why don’t you get a real job?”. I’m only in this business because I have a passion for storytelling, and nothing else fulfills me more than being able to tell a great story.

You’ve been in a lot of different TV series and films’ – which actors/actresses have been your favourites to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?  

Wow, that’s a tough one. I really enjoyed working with Lawrence Fishburne on ‘CSI’, he was so kind and very fun to act with. That guy is a class act. I also really liked working with John Favreau, he is wonderful actor and just such a teddy bear. I feel like I learned a lot just from watching the two of them work.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

I am obsessed with Explosions In The Sky, Bon Iver, Adele, Tame Impala, and Fleetwood Mac.

If you were stranded on a desert island – what three things could you not live without? 

A picture of my mom and I at my high school graduation, “Sex Drugs And Cocoa Puffs” by Chuck Klosterman, and probably a blanket – I am always cold!!

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I worked on a comedic film that I am very excited about, it comes out March I believe…I am also in the Chris Pine/Elizabeth Banks drama ‘Welcome To People’. On the side, I recently produced a short film with some actor friends. We are actually about to produce a second short film that I wrote. In addition, I am in a sketch comedy group called Awkward Kids, we are an all female sketch group, we are performing live at the Improv Lab in Hollywood starting in February. 

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

