Christine Haeberman – (The Millennium Bug – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Christine Haeberman about her role in ‘The Millennium Bug’. Here, Christine talks about how she got involved in the project and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Christine. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘The Millennium Bug’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The film is about an innocent family who are abducted by a hillbilly clan on New Years Eve 1999, which also happens to be the birthdate of the giant, blood-thirsty creature, the Millennium Bug. It’s ‘The Hills Have Eyes’ meets ‘Godzilla’!

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Clarissa Haskin, the teenage daughter who is abducted with her father and new step mother. She is young, innocent and vulnerable and the hillbilly’s hope to have her join their wretched clan.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was actually called in originally to audition for the role of Pearleane because the role of Clarissa was meant to be a lot younger, around 14. But Ken asked me to read for Clarissa and liked me so much for the role, he changed her age and made her closer to 18.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It’s a total throwback to old horror monster movies with real special effects. There is no CGI, so that makes this film really special. The whole film was shot in a tiny warehouse and all of the sets were built by the art designers. Everything, including the bug and the ghost town were done with puppetry or miniatures, the way that movies used to be made. I’m a huge fan of classics like ‘The Thing’ and ‘Alien’ and I think it’s the lack of computer imagery that makes those films so scary and so much more real and impressive.

The film stars John Charles Meyer, Jessica Simons, your good self, Jon Briddell and Ken McFarlane – with Kenneth Cran onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Everyone was so great and fun to work with! This film took a long time to shoot, so we all bonded and became very close. It also helped that everyone was SO talented and focused, it made the process a lot easier and more fun.

Let’s talk a bit about you Christine. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I have always had the acting “bug” (no pun intended) 🙂 in me, since a very young age. I have always thought of it as playing make-believe and pretending to be different kinds of people and that is so magical and fun to me. As a kid, I would put on plays for my family and then I started doing real theatre. After finishing college, I knew I had to pursue my dream of being in film and I’ve been in LA ever since!

You’ve been in a number of different shorts and films – who have been your favourite actors/actresses to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

I would say the coolest person I had the opportunity to work with was Bill Nye the Science Guy. I watched his show growing up and being a part of his new Discovery Channel series was pretty awesome. He is a very smart dude. As far as projects go, I really enjoyed being in the short film ‘In Dreams’. It shot in Maine and I really loved being out there. The crew was amazing and the character I played was very quirky and funny, so I had a great time playing her.

I understand you were part of the reality TV show ‘Scream Queens’ – what was it like to have been part of that?

‘Scream Queens’ was such a unique experience. I learned a lot about the horror film genre, especially from our acting coach John Homa. The coolest part of that show were the challenges and the locations we got to shoot them on. My favourite moment was shooting a vampire western trailer on the back lot of Universal Studios. That was pretty awesome.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Let’s see…….every album of Massive Attack, Tool, Silverchair, Coldplay, Portishead, Class Actress, Pink Floyd, Deadmau5, Justice, lots of film scores. The list goes on 🙂

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

I just finished up a zombie feature that will be composed of five zombie shorts. My segment is called ‘Long Live The Dead’ and I play the one of the leads who gets turned into a zombie!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

