Bjanka Murgel – (Hidden 3D – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Bjanka Murgel about her role in ‘Hidden 3D’. Here, Bjanka talks about how she got involved in the project and how she got into acting in the first place…

 

Hey Bjanka. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me. Of course we‘re here to talk to you about your new film, ‘Hidden 3D’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film? 

Brian Karter’s mother dies; he is surprised to learn that he has inherited The Sanctuary, home to her controversial experimental addiction treatment center. During a tour of the decrepit building with his friends and a mysterious associate of his mother, it becomes clear that something sinister lies beneath the surface.  

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

Firstly, I’ve always wanted to get involved in 3D moviemaking since the technology came out. Secondly, when I read the script, it was thrillingly attractive. So, like all actors, I auditioned for the role and eventually won the part.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

The character I play is Kimberly. We are similar in the sense that we’re both curious city girls who love adventure. We also share an intuitive nature because Kimberly is the first to notice the suspiciousness and strange happenings along the adventure, and I, myself, can feel people’s mood very well. 

What are you thoughts on film companies using 3D technology – like in this film? How would you say it improves this film?

I believe 3D technology enhances the impact of the special effects in a “horror” movie like ours. When you can have a bug FLY out of the screen and almost into your face, I think it will get a better reaction than it being done in 2D. Among it’s drawbacks for us, the actors on set, our movements had to be small and exact since shaky images would not be pleasant for the viewer.  

I was fortunate to be able to watch our scenes on “playback” while on set. With 3D glasses on, I was shocked to see how scenes popped and how crisp and alive the images were. 

The film stars Sean Clement, Simonetta Solder, Jason Blicker, Devon Bostick and Jordan Hayes – with Antoine Thomas onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

The cast was great fun. I had known Sean from an acting class we both took, so that was easy meet. Jordan and I became instant friends during the shoot. Simonetta was an absolute delight. She is talented and graciously beautiful, so we were all happy she could join us from Italy for the shoot.

Let’s talk a bit about you Bjanka. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I was originally a ballet dancer at the National Ballet of Canada in Toronto, however, the negatives of dancing 10 hours a day eventually caught up to me. I was faced with several injuries that caused me to reconsider my life path. I spontaneously decided to audition for a theatre school in Montreal, was accepted, and attended for 3 years. The next logical step was auditioning for film and TV in Montreal, so that kept me busy for a few years after school. I moved back to Toronto to pursue the TV and film industry there. 

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

Don’t get into it! Ok, seriously, I would say get a really great job to support yourself first, that way you’re not scraping to get by, because, lets face it, this industry is hard and very few succeed in it. Then, it’s very important to be living life fully because that helps you develop your emotional being. And lastly, be creative and create your own work with your fellow film makers and actors. While you’re busy creating your own work, who knows, you might just get called for the next big feature and get hired! 

What is currently on your I-Pod right now? 

Music! Beruit, Phoneix, David Guetta – (‘One Love’ – my 2011 song), Jesse Cook, Adele, Ellie Goulding, Carla Bruni, many more…ha my best friend would know she “music-educates” me!

You’ve had a number of roles in a variety of different projects – who has been your favourite actor to work with and which has been your favourite project to be a part of?

To be honest, I was part of a Canadian sitcom that had international release called ‘The Latest Buzz’. This was the greatest learning experience for me, since I had never done comedy. I learned many skills on that set that helped me in future projects. Quick takes, choreography, and pace required us to focus and deliver what is needed in a moment’s pause. I have major respect for all sitcom shows. Most of the actors were no older than 16 years of age, but they were all acted like pros, teaching me every time I walked on set. Wow, all the kids were amazing, and great fun to work with, my cheekbones would be sore after a days work from laughing so much. Sign me up for more of that please!

What’s coming up for you in 2012? 

A move to LA = so sun tanning. Aside from that “kicking ass and taking names”. And big smiles.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

