Christie Laing – (Tucker & Dale Vs Evil – 2010).

I recently got the chance to talk to Christie Laing about her role in ‘Tucker & Dale Vs Evil’. Here, Christie talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew and what is currently on her I-Pod…

Hey Christie. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Tucker & Dale Vs Evil’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?


It’s a twist on the normal scary movie. In most horror films the hillbilly murderers are after the innocent teenagers in the woods, so when we see our friend Alison being carried out of the water by Tucker and Dale we go on a murderous mission to save her. Tucker and Dale are in no way dangerous but stereotypes and assumptions get the better of everyone.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Naomi who I consider the straight shooter of the bunch. She is the one with all the practical solutions but still at the end of the day falls in line with her friends. Naomi tries to be tough and logical but is just as confused as everyone.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was given the script from my agent. After that I went through a series of auditions and call backs, where I met Eli Craig and then eventually booked the role. 

How would you say this film is different and unique?

‘Tucker & Dale Vs Evil’ is just that, different and unique. Eli and Morgan took what could have been a normal scary movie and flipped it on its head. Your hillbilly murderers are the lovable Tucker and Dale who have spent all their money on a lovely vacation home to do some fishing and drink some beers. And your innocent college kids are the more vengeance driven characters.

The film stars Tyler Labine, Alan Tudyk, Katrina Bowden, Jesse Moss, Philip Granger and your good self – with Eli Craig onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Filming this project was fantastic. Right out of the gate I was excited to work with Chelan Simmons who I had grown up in the Vancouver acting circuit with but never been able to work with. Same goes for Jesse and Brandon Jay McLaren. All the college kids really hit it off. 

The first time I met Tyler and Alan was at the table read. They are so unbelievably talented and funny that after those first Tucker and Dale lines came out of their mouths I knew I was going to be a part of a great project. 

The first time I met Eli was during my callback and the amount of energy and excitement he had for the project and working with us made me very grateful to be brought on board. 

We also had the most fantastic, hardworking crew. We spent over a month filming in the forest in Calgary and the crew made it a walk in the park. 

Let’s talk a bit about you Christie. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I remember being really young and we weren’t allowed to watch a lot of TV. so when my sisters and I did we were glued. There was a commercial that came on with a little blonde girl with pigtails and I remember thinking “I want to do that, I want to be in the TV”. Years later an agent approached my parents and after much persistence they finally let me go to an audition. I did commercials as a child and when I got older started getting the occasional film of television script. I loved becoming these characters and really exploring behavior especially in high-school when everyone’s trying to figure out who they are. 

You’ve had a number of roles in a variety of different TV series’ and film projects – which actor/actress has been your favorite to work with so far, and which project has been your favorite to be a part of?

Most recently I worked on two projects with Nickelodeon, ‘The Boy Who Cried Werewolf’ and ‘The Fairly Odd Parents’. These, aside from Tucker and Dale, have definitely been the best sets to be on. They’re so fun, positive and you’re given so much freedom with the characters on the page. Because I love these kinds of projects my favorite actresses to work with have been Chelan Simmons, Victoria Justice and Daniella Monet. These three women have such great comedic timing and are delights to work with. In an industry where you hear a lot of negative about actors/actresses, I have been very fortunate to have worked with super talented, down to earth people. 

If I asked you to decorate a room for me, what color would you paint it and why?

I would paint it a light grey with a dark grey accent wall. I love how grey lends itself to compliment so many other colors but still leaves a bare room cozy.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

I recently saw the film ‘Drive’ and my love for the 1980’s and especially its music is on overdrive. Right now I have;

  • Anamalia (Lifelike Remix) by Voltaire
  • A Real Hero (feat. Electric Youth) by College
  • Under Your Spell by Desire
  • Houdini (RAC remix) by Foster the People
  • I also just saw Chad Valley and Teen Daze and they were both unreal! 

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I just had a role on the upcoming Hub TV series ‘Clue’ and now I’m reading scripts and gearing up for pilot season.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

