Jenica Bergere – (Judy Moody And The Not Bummer Summer – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Jenica Bergere about her role in ‘Judy Moody And The Not Bummer Summer’. Here, Jenica talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and how she got into acting in the first place…

Hey Jenica. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Judy Moody And The Not Bummer Summer’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Judy’s friends all have plans for the summer, so do her parents and she is left to babysit by Aunt Opal played by Heather Graham. Her summer turns out to be not such a ‘bummer summer’ after all…and hilarity ensues.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Rocky’s Mom. Rocky’s entire family is in the circus and in the movie I am sending him away to circus/clown school for the summer.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned and being a fan of the books, I expressed my joy in being included in the film anyway. Turns out I am just like a circus Mom, apparently.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It is a blast for the kids, extremely creative, fun for the whole family…and it was uniquely independent. The producer, Sarah Magnus, read her child the Judy Moody series and realised it could be a great big hit of a movie.

The film stars Jordana Beatty, Heather Graham, Preston Bailey, Parris Mosteller, Kristoffer Ryan Winters and Garrett Ryan – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I have worked with Preston before, (he had played my son on a previous film) but there was something so great watching these kids coming of age in a movie that targets their demographic. They handled themselves so professionally. I cannot say enough kind things about them and Heather Graham is so easy-going.

Let’s talk a bit about you Jenica. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I wanted to be a basketball player, but I wasn’t all that talented, just tall and really funny, so it was a natural progression to become an actor and suffer tons of rejection and yet come back with a competitive spirit the next day. I became an actor because I couldn’t really reach the hoop…basically, I don’t know what else to do.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

I would suggest you read, live life, see life as art and find a way to carve your own path. There is no ‘industry’ per say to fit into, there are projects you can be a part of, that you fit with, and projects you can make. Waiting around to be a star will have you doing just that…waiting.

You’ve been in a number of different TV series’ and films – which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

My favourite movie to be a part of is an upcoming movie called ‘Safety Not Guaranteed’. Great cast, great crew, great script, great experience. Every job I’m part of is a joy, I was just filming a Capital One commercial and I had a blast.

If you could have dinner with three guests (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

My Dad, because he’s no longer with us and I miss the crap out of him, my daughter because she is my life and my husband because he smells good.

If you were stranded on a desert island – what three things could you not live without?

My daughter, my husband and my sense of humour.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I have a few movies coming out. ‘Safety Not Guaranteed’ with Aubrey Plaza and Jake Johnson, ‘The Motel Life’ with Emile Hirsch and Stephen Dorff and I am shooting a pilot based on my life with the intention of selling it to a network.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

