Lyle Brocato – (Texas Killing Fields – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Lyle Brocato about his role in ‘Texas Killing Fields’. Here, Lyle talks about what it was like working with Jeffrey Dean Morgan and what is currently on his I-Pod right now…

Hey Lyle. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Texas Killing Fields’.

Absolutely. Thanks for having me. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The film is based on true events about two cops who are trying to change the course of history in Texas City. A slew of murders have taken place in this small town. Bodies have been dumped in the ever eerie marshland, which has been deemed “The Killing Fields”. It’s quite a high stakes journey with a little bit of everything. It’s certainly a dark thriller, but the action qualities of the film balance it out nicely.



Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play the character of Jim. He is an amazingly talented phone and cable technician. Jim is a longtime local who knows the area and surrounding areas very well. Jim provides insight to Brian (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) on the history of Texas City and “The Killing Fields”. And with his fantastic technician skills he plays a somewhat integral part in the development of the case. Basically, I solve the whole thing! Jim is amazing!!! I kid, of course…mostly.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I went through several rounds of auditions for a few different characters. I was extremely excited to land the role of Jim. It was exciting to know I would be working on a Michael Mann produced project.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I think the darkness of the film makes it unique. Any time a serial killing or murder is part of film, most films will gently sweep over that aspect, but I think this one doesn’t shy away from the horrible things that happened there. It raises the stakes of the film, which in the end, I believe, makes the film more rewarding.

The film stars Sam Worthington, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Chloe Grace Moretz, Corie Berkemeyer and Trenton Perez – with Ami Canaan Mann onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I only had the opportunity to work with Ami and Jeffrey…who were both fantastic. Ami has a very calming presence. I think she enjoys directing her actors. It’s such a technical process that it’s always nice to get input from the director regarding your choices as an actor. Jeffrey was one of the nicest guys I’ve ever worked with. From the second I met him he was super kind. From what I could tell, everyone on set felt the same way. I was a little nervous to be working with him because he played ‘Comedian’, in ‘Watchmen’, which was cool. It was funny because he came on set and they had changed some of the dialogue for our scene, which I had received ahead of him. So he flubbed his lines a couple of times and kept apologizing to me. I was like, “Dude are you kidding me? You’re Jeffrey Dean Morgan. Don’t worry about me”. It actually helped loosen me up a little. I felt very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with someone with his experience. It was a real pleasure.

Let’s talk a bit about you Lyle. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

In high school I was a sports kid…I played everything I could manage to put into my schedule. I loved it. Well once I got to college, I was kind of bored and was missing that high I got from sports. So, I took an acting class and started doing theatre. After graduation, moved out to L.A. to pursue a career. 


You’ve been in a number of different TV series’ and films – who have been your favourite actors/actresses to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

One of the first projects I worked on was a film called ‘Deal’ with Burt Reynolds. My scene was with Mr. Reynolds. While doing a little improv in the scene, I called his character old. Before the next take the director walked over to me and said, “Don’t call Mr. Reynolds old”. I was mortified. Good times. I’m actually cringing just thinking about it. I also really enjoyed working on ‘Revenge Of The Bridesmaids’. One, because it was a really fun film and set and two, my wife (Angelena Swords) was also cast in the film. It was great to go work with my wife.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

The National…I can’t stop listening to those guys. Also, Arcade Fire and Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes are big in the rotation at the moment.

If you could have dinner with three guests (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

Besides any of my amazing family and friends…. I’d have to start with Jesus…cause…well, he’s Jesus. I’m a religious guy and I could certainly think of a few topics of conversation. Then I would add Jimmy Stewart to the mix. I’m huge fan of his. He’s that classic movie star that played the everyday man so well. Also, I think he and Jesus would hit it off. Well, there likely old friends already, right? Finally, Annie Leibovitz would receive an invite as well. I’m a wedding photographer as well as an actor. So, Annie Leibovitz is a sort of hero of mine in the photography realm. Plus, she could take some kick-ass pics of this outstanding dinner that I’m sure I’ll need proof of when I tell people about.


If you were stranded on a desert island – what three ‘personal’ things could you not live without?

An I-Phone with service would pretty much do me right. I’m a victim of the times I suppose. If I’m forced to bring two other things…endless supply of sunblock, I’m pretty fair-skinned. Lastly, electricity. Gotta charge the I-Phone.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I’m currently working on a USA TV series called ‘Common Law’. It’s about two cops, partners, who do not get along. They are forced into couples therapy by their captain to work out their troubles. I play Peter, who is part of one of the couples in therapy. It’s a really funny show with a great cast. Michael Ealy and Warren Kole are the leads. They are really good together. Also, stars Jack McGee and Sonya Walger. It’s gonna be a fantastic show. It premieres Jan. 26th.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brad Perry
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 17:12:22

    Again, Lyle, I am stoked for you and your family! There is absolutely nothing parallel to achieving your dreams and although you and I haven’t spoke in a while, I am so happy for you! Way to go my friend!

    B. Perry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

