Ana Kayne – (Another Earth – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Ana Kayne about her role in ‘Another Earth’. Here, Ana talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and what’s coming up for her in 2012…

 

Hey Ana. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Another Earth’.

Thanks for asking.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

A 17-year old M.I.T. bound Rhoda gets behind the wheel after a few drinks. Tipsy, she fixates on a stunning orb (i.e. “Another Earth”) and slams her car into a family of three. After 4 years in prison for killing a mother and child, Rhoda attaches herself to the man whose family she kills.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Claire. She serves as a post-accident plot tool. Maybe through Claire, Rhoda gets a glimpse of what her life might’ve been. Maybe Claire is an affirmation that Rhoda has become an alien, not literally. I feel it is up to the audience to decide what the interaction means.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I auditioned for the role and was thrilled to book it straight away.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

I think the film is unique because of its use of science fiction. It’s a drama that employs science fiction to encourage the audience to consider that “somewhere over the rainbow” place – that private place that makes us look up at the stars time and time again.

The film stars William Mapother, Brit Marling, Matthew-Lee Erlbach, DJ Flava, Meggan Lennon and AJ Diana – with Mike Cahill onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set? Any good anecdotes?

I shot with Brit, Mike, and the crew. They were all lovely, nurturing, efficient, and gracious. My scene was shot in New Haven. I grew up in New Haven and we were in a market that is on the same street as my high school art school. It’s like when you find out you have the same birthday as someone you really like: it’s great!

You’ve had a number of roles in different TV series’ and films – which actors/actresses have been your favorites to work with so far and why? Any good stories?

So far I’ve been spoiled. Everyone I’ve worked with has been really nice, very talented, and surprisingly nurturing. I hear horror stories from people about tough sets but I really can’t say I’ve been there. Maybe it’s because I’m new on the scene. Maybe people see that and remember what that’s like.

If you could have dinner with three guests – (living or dead), who would you choose and why?

I’d say Paul Newman because he’s my hero. And my two older brothers because they make me laugh really hard and keep it real and I think Paul would enjoy their company.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things could you not live without?

I’m going to treat this as a question about survival and assume there is an electronic outlet fashioned by the natives who once inhabited the island.

  1. A rechargeable fire pit, fire included.
  2. My iPhone (please suspend your judgment): I could FaceTime my loved ones and look up plants so I know if they’re poisonous or not. I could also dictate my thoughts and observations to Siri and she’d log them for me in text messages to myself.
  3. My Baby Taylor guitar: I’d have to pass the time and there’s room for improvement.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

So far I’m co-writing and shooting two short films. I’m in the mix for a couple of features, and pilot season is on the horizon. It’s going to be a great year!

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

