Mads Koudal – (The Reverend – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Mads Koudal about his role in ‘The Reverend’. Here, Mads talks about how he got involved in the project in the first place and which three people he would invite to dinner…

 

Hey Mads. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘The Reverend’.

You are very welcome, Matt! And Happy New Year, by the way!

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Fresh from seminary school a new Reverend embarks on his first parish, where he is based in a small, low maintenance chapel in the quiet idyllic setting of a quiet country village. While on the surface the village seems to be a peaceful parish, with perfect residents, soon it becomes apparent that something more sinister lurks beneath the façade of a local businessman. On a wet, cold night a mysterious girl visits The Reverend at the chapel. Cold and upset she is welcomed in warmly, soon it becomes apparent that her visit is not for sanctuary but to deliver a message, a message in the form of a deep, bloody bite. Awoken with an unknown, uncontrollable thirst a confused Reverend can find no evidence of the girl from the night before. With nothing but the thirst and memory of the bite, The Reverend embarks on his mandate, to clean up the village and the neighbouring estate, by preaching or feasting. (adapted from IMDB).

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

Hmmm what can I say about The Viking? Well, he is a businessman, but he is definitely not a normal one! Plain and simple, he loves a good fight after having closed a deal. He is brave as hell, he doesn’t care about who, or how many, he is fighting. He is a psychopath and I am quite sure he enjoys being one.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I worked with Neil Jones and Stuart Brennan some years ago on a movie called ‘The Feral Generation’. A few years later, I played the bad guy in the Indonesian action drama ‘Merantau’. I did a lot of fighting in that movie and I think Neil and Stuart saw some potential in me in terms of the fight scenes. When they asked me to join the cast of ‘The Reverend’ I said yes straight away, I like working with these guys.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

First of all, I haven’t seen the movie yet! But the script had a great mix of dark humor, interesting dramatic dialogue and great action sequences. I like the idea that it’s based on the Book of Job. I’ve always been a fan of mixing comedy with horror. To be honest I often think that horror can be quite fun to watch, maybe because it’s a genre that is somehow a bit silly. There might be something wrong with me Haha.

The film stars Rutger Hauer, Tamer Hassan, Doug Bradley, Edmund Kingsley, Simon Phillips and Emily Booth – with Neil Jones onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was a great shoot indeed. A very professional crew – everybody was down to earth, which I think is very important when you shoot a movie like this. I had a few scenes with Tamer Hassan, he is a great actor to work with, and he is a really funny guy. I liked him a lot. Furthermore, a great experience to finally work with Stuart Brennan. I would have loved to share a scene with the legendary Rutger Hauer. But just to share credits is awesome!

Let’s talk a bit about you Mads. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Oh, this is going to sound as a big cliché. Since I was a kid I loved watching movies, When I became older I started doing stage work, and I simply realized that I have never been involved in anything that made me happier. So the choice was easy I guess. Then, when I got accepted to drama school, there was no turning back 😉

You’ve been in a number of different shorts and films – who have been your favourite actors/actresses to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

Well, I have worked with a lot of talented actors over the years, that’s for sure, but I have never worked with anyone like Iko Uwais and Yayan Ruhian. Those guys were truly great, down to earth, humble and generous. My favorite project so far has been ‘Merantau’. No doubt about it, shooting all those spectacular action sequences, in a beautiful country like Indonesia, I feel privileged and lucky having done that. I also want to mention the Canadian western ‘Six Reasons Why’ and the two Danish movies ‘Upstairs’ and ‘Tonny’ as great experiences so far.

What is currently on your I-Pod right now?

Haha! You probably wouldn’t know the artist, – a Danish rapper named L.O.C.

If I was a genie and could grant you three wishes – what would they be and why?

I would rather keep that to myself, sorry! Or those wishes might not come true 😉

If you could have three historical guests to dinner – (living or dead), who would they be and why?

Kurt Cobain, Abraham Lincoln and Christopher McCandless. I’m sure they would be a great trio. I would just cook for them and then listen to what they would have to say!

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I have a few projects lined up for 2012, but unfortunately nothing I can talk about at this point. I am also writing a comedy series, which I hope will take off in 2012/2013. Besides that I am always open to new offers. For future updates please check my Facebook site: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mads-Koudal/214958571853004

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

