Lee Craven – (Turnout – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Lee Craven about his role in ‘Turnout’. Here, Lee talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and which three people he would invite to dinner…

Hey Lee. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Turnout’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The story follows George and Sophie, they’re saving money to go on their first holiday together, the deposit is paid, and they have two weeks left to pay the outstanding balance of £2,000. Sophie has entrusted George with her holiday savings and is keen to settle the debt with the travel agents. The only trouble is, unbeknown to Sophie, George is flat broke. In a vain attempt to raise cash, George uses Sophie’s holiday money to fund an ill-judged deal.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play an angry bar customer in a club scene wanting more drink. I argue with the bar tender and I eventually get kicked out the club by door men.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I applied online for the role as an SA, not really thinking I would get called to be on-set – I was surprised to find an email asking to be involved not so long after applying. I had a great time on-set enjoyed every minute of it.

The film stars Ophelia Lovibond, Neil Maskell, Ben Drew, Ricci Harnett and Jamie Belman – with Lee Sales on board as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Working with the cast and crew on-set was a great experience. Everyone worked well together even though some scenes where hot and stuffy. The cast was lively, great to chat with and we cracked some jokes. Lee Sales is a great director, I thought things ran smooth without too many upsets. I’m sure that I will work with the cast and crew again in the future for another successful movie.

Let’s talk a bit about you Lee. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I’ve always wanted to be an actor but really didn’t know which way to go about it. I got involved in other work and focused on other things in life. A friend of mine, actress Catherine Gordon, invited me along to a film called ‘Pinni’ being filmed in London. I went along as an extra for a cafe scene. This was a long night but I enjoyed it, from that day I found out more about acting and where to find out more info to become an actor. From there I took it further and further and now I’m becoming successful in the film/TV industry.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry ?

If you have a dream to become an actor/actress in this industry, live that dream, push yourself to success and accomplish your dreams/goals. Seek workshops, advice, diplomas, It’s not easy in this industry so you have to work hard and stay on top of things. Start out as an extra and build your career from there. Dreams come true so don’t let them die out.

You’ve had a number of roles in a variety of different TV series’ and film projects – which actor/actress has been your favorite to work with so far, and which project has been your favorite to be a part of?

I can’t really say who is my favourite actor/actress is as I see them all as people and not famous celebrities. I must say Jennifer Coolidge had me in stitches – she has a great personality and is also great to work with. I hope to work with her again in the near future. ‘Austenland’ has to be my favourite project to be involved in. With a great crew and cast. Director Jerusha Hess made this project fun and exciting. We all became a family and made this project come to life. I hope ‘Austenland’ becomes a great success and does really well. To this day I still laugh and smile to myself thinking of the funny moments we all had on set. I would love to turn back the clocks to be on the ‘Austenland’ set again – such great times and a memory forever. All the best to everyone involved in ‘Austenland’, hope to see you all again soon.

If you could have three guests to dinner, (living or dead) – who would they be and why?

  • Bruce Lee would be on my guest list because he is an inspiration to others and inspired all with his skills. As a kid growing up I always had his movies on-screen, watching them nearly 24 hours a day. I wanted to be like Bruce Lee so much, I even carved my own wooden darts like Bruce Lee did in ‘Way Of The Dragon’. Being a great fighter and actor he will always be missed RIP Bruce Lee.
  • Halle Berry – This woman is amazing – she has it all I say. Halle has been my dream woman from childhood and is still to this day. If Halle was a guest for dinner there would definitely have to be another date. She is a heart-throb to many guys out there, as well as being one of the most sexiest females on this planet. Think I’d melt at the dinner table before it was served.
  • Arnold Schwarzenegger – Arnie is a legend action man of all action men. Arnie is an idol for many around the world. I always said to myself I’ll be just like Arnie when I’m older. Have I come close to it, well not yet. If you put your passion, energy, heart into your life push for your dreams you will succeed. You’ll become stronger, have the strength to lift yourself up and go, achieve and accomplish your goals. I’ve gained this from my idol Arnold Schwarzenegger.

What’s coming up for you in 2011/12?

2011 is coming to an end I have achieved so much this year. Working on so many projects and meeting great people I couldn’t regret any of it. I am very pleased with myself and continue to push my career all the way to success. For the rest of the 2011 year I have a role in a feature called ‘Cons And Cocaine’ written and directed by Mhairi Calvey. My character is Lance, a cocaine supplier. Near the end of 2011 I play a character called Victor in a project called ‘Destiny’.

2012 is going to be a busy year for me. I’m also currently working on my own projects and building my production company up – (cravenproductions.co.uk). I am also working with other producers on their projects. I’m lined up for three features in 2012 which I am looking forward to. I also plan to go back to Los Angeles for film/TV auditions and workshops.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

