Virág Bárány – (Monte Carlo – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Virág Bárány about her role in ‘Monte Carlo’. Here, Virág talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and which three guests she would invite to dinner…

Hey Virág, thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Monte Carlo’.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

The story is about three American girls who are on vacation in Paris. One of them is mistaken for a not so charming yet wealthy British heiress. Due to this mistake the girls go through an unbelievable adventure in Monte Carlo, where life teaches them a lesson about self-knowledge, love and true friendship.

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie

The girl’s book rooms in a hotel called Le Petit Sommeil, which isn’t what they expected at all. My character is a maid of the hotel, who isn’t friendly. The hotel is very French in it’s essence, thus contributing to the overall atmosphere of the Parisian scenes.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

What makes this movie special is that it’s a remake of the classical novel ‘The Prince And The Pauper’ by Mark Twain, which communicates well to today’s youth. It doesn’t want to be more than what it is – a sweet funny story about romance and friendship.

The film stars Selena Gomez, Katie Cassidy, Leighton Meester, Cory Monteith and Andie MacDowell – with Thomas Bezucha onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

It was wonderful to work with this young and cheerful cast. The shooting had a delightful atmosphere but was fast paced at the same time. The director, Thomas Bezucha was very kind to everyone. I was mostly on set with the French cast, it was a pleasure acting with them. I also had a couple of takes with Cory Monteith, who was also kind and very tall.

Let’s talk a bit about you Virág. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

Ever since I was a little girl I wanted to become an actress. At the age of 6, I was already attending poetry reciting contests and I was taking acting classes after school. My mother was a managing director at a movie theatre at the time and I remember spending a great deal of my childhood at the engine room. I think this was what drawn me away from the stage, and pushed me more towards film.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into the industry?

My advice to any actor or actress is to go to every casting, no matter how insignificant the role might seem, because it is an opportunity to learn such a confidence and routine that can’t be acquired elsewhere.

You’ve been in a number of different TV series’ and films – who has been your favourite actor/actress to work with so far? Which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

I loved working on ‘The Headsman’. I was fresh out of acting school, just moved back to Hungary from New York and I didn’t really know what to do with my diploma. I went to the first ever real English-speaking audition of mine and I got the job! I was unimaginably scared of how I was going to perform and the cast helped me through all that. My fellow actors were extremely kind and inviting and most of all they treated me as a colleague. I’ve shot many movies since then and obviously some of my performance was better than the one in ‘The Headsman’, but my experience at that shooting, especially the kindness of the other actors was what gave me the strength and courage to go down this road as a Hungarian actress. I’ve liked everyone whom I’ve worked with so far, and admire them for choosing this hard profession.

If you could have three historical guests to dinner – (living or dead), who would they be and why?

Paul Newman, my eternal god of acting. Every role he’s played, every move he did in front of the movie camera represents the noble art form of acting. Ray Bradbury, my favourite writer. Science fiction is really close to me in general, but Bradbury writes it with incomparable artistic style. ‘The Illustrated Man’ would be the book I’d take to a deserted island. Meryl Streep, role model of mine and actresses across generations. One piece of advice from her would be worth it’s weight in gold. And since it’s a dinner, the gentlemen should benefit from it as well.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

Casting after casting after casting… I’m front runner for three productions at the moment, hopefully this means constant working for the following year. These are all British, Hungarian and international productions.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

