Catherine Balavage – (Junkhearts – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Catherine Balavage about her role in ‘Junkhearts’. Here, Catherine talks about what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set and what’s coming up for her in 2012…

Hey Catherine. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film ‘Junkhearts’.

Thanks for having me.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

I haven’t seen the film yet! But it is about drug addiction. It’s quite funny how many films I have been in that I have not seen. My friends have seen it and they say it was good, and that my acting was brilliant, obviously….

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play a pregnant junkie. The pregnancy suit was really heavy! My outfit was awful too. No make-up and dark circles painted on. Not exactly glamorous. I got my make-under next to two women wearing nothing but thongs. Which was quite strange. The pregnancy suit had to be filled with water and gaffa taped heavily to make it look natural. It took all day. I also left my shoes on set and never got them back.

It was great acting with Eddie Marsden, he is a very generous actor. Incredibly talented. He was very giving in the scene.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I am on a website called Starnow. They listed the casting there. I didn’t remember applying for it and I didn’t realise it was such a big deal. I didn’t audition for it. They just offered it to me.

How would you say this film is different and unique?

It has a brilliant cast, it’s well written. It is made by a female director so it has a different angle.

The film stars Eddie Marsan, Tom Sturridge, Romola Garai, Candese Reid, Shaun Dooley and Bhasker Patel – with Tinge Krishnan onboard as director – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

I worked mostly with Eddie Marsan. I had worked with some of the crew before. Everyone was great, really nice and down to earth. I was only filming for one day but we all had lunch together. Eddie got me the tartar sauce for my fish! There were no divas.

Tinge Krishnan, I actually met her socially but I didn’t remember until after filming. I don’t think she did either. She was very good. She knew what she wanted.

Let’s talk a bit about you Catherine. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?

I just love film. It’s a passion. I have been acting for ten years now. I started very young! It is quite scary how fast it has gone.

When I was younger I got glandular fever. I was very ill and bed-ridden for a couple of years. I would watch films and read to pass the time. I love telling stories and I have always been creative. I won art competitions when I was younger. I drew a lot and I also wrote. Films help us understand ourselves and others. I love the process. You become like a family on set. I love it.

You’ve been in a number of different TV series and films – which actors/actresses have been your favorite to work with so far and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

I’ve worked with Martin Scorsese. That was something. It meant a lot. I got a text message that said ‘You have been personally picked by Martin Scorsese’. It was just a small part in ‘Hugo’, but it is beyond an actor’s wildest dreams. Bill Nighy was great to work with. He is so friendly. He will talk to anyone and he treats everyone the same. A true gentleman.

I’ve worked with Placebo, I am in the ‘For What It’s Worth’ music video, Brian Moloko put the drip in my arm! I get recognized for that a lot.

Working with Paul McGann on ‘Luther’ was brilliant too. He was very polite and I had to beat him up. He was friendly and a true professional.

Which animal do you love the most and why?

I am the biggest animal lover. Choosing just one is hard. I had cats when I was growing up though. They are independent and smart.

If you were stranded on a desert island – what three things could you not live without?

My Kindle, an SPF and a boat for when I got bored and wanted to leave!

How are you going to be spending your Christmas this year?

With family in Oxford and then New Year in Scotland.

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

I have a few projects.

I will also be auditioning. I got some brilliant auditions this year. Some for Hollywood films and good TV shows. Hopefully I will book a big one soon. I am also producing and directing a film called ‘Prose & Cons’. I own and edit a magazine called Frost; www.frostmagazine.com and I am writing an acting book. I am a workaholic so I always have various projects on the go.

My IMDB address is located here: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2952107/ and my website: www.catherinebalavage.com if your readers want to follow my work…

Thanks for the interview!

 

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

