Enisha Brewster – (Footloose – 2011).

I recently got the chance to talk to Enisha Brewster about her role in ‘Footloose’. Here, Enisha talks about how she got involved in the project in the first place and what it was like working with the cast and crew on-set…

Hey Enisha. Thanks for taking the time out to talk to me about your new film, ‘Footloose‘.

What’s the general plotline surrounding the film?

Ren is the new kid in town and he’s discovering some of Bomont, Georgia’s history. ‘Footloose’ is the story of how one kid with passion and vision inspires an entire community to re-evaluate their laws, to reconsider the status quo, and to find a way to trust its children enough to allow them to make choices for their own lives again. In the end Ren succeeds! For the first time since the tragic car crash that took the lives of five Bomont’s teens, Ren and his new friends get to cut loose and dance their asses off!

Tell us a bit about the character you play in the movie…

I play Etta. Etta is your typical good high school girl, caught in the middle of life, teenage love and the laws of her small town. She and her boyfriend Woody, round out the circle of close friends that support Ren in challenging the ban on dancing.

How did you get involved in the project in the first place?

I was living in Atlanta during casting. Craig Brewer, our director, wanted the supporting cast to be southern, so casting happened right out of Atlanta. I got a call from my agent to go in, and after a couple of reads and meeting Craig, I… waited. Haha! (Actually, I thought I had ruined it. But you know we actors are always our worst critics.) I got a call from my agent several weeks later saying I’d booked the role! It was awesome!

Had you seen the original 1980’s version before you signed onto the project – how would you say the two are different?

I hadn’t. After I was cast I thought it would be a good idea to check it out. I read the new script first actually, so it was neat to go back and see the original afterwards. Besides the modern aesthetics and references, the new one hinges the ban on dancing more on the tragic accident than on religious indiscretion. Bomont from the new ‘Footloose’ is multi-cultural unlike the small town in the original. We get to see the car crash in the new one. We also get to see Reverend Shaw discover that his daughter has been physical assaulted by her boyfriend, Chuck. And there are a lot of other instances like those that ground ‘Footloose’ in our modern sensibilities. The new ‘Footloose’ provides a whole host of answers to questions about the characters that fans of the original may have.

The film stars Kenny Wormald, Julianne Hough, Dennis Quaid, Andie MacDowell and Miles Teller – what was it like working with the cast and crew on-set?

Everyone was kind, professional, hard-working, and FUN! Cupcake Fridays and Miles Teller jokes provided some of my favourite moments on set!

Let’s talk a bit about you Enisha. What made you want to get into acting in the first place?…

I’ve been acting since age 10. A wonderful woman named Reba Kindred put a script into my hands and I was bitten. I performed with my high school’s drama department, competed locally in UIL competitions, and attended thespian festivals. I even earned a Letterman in High School for drama! Haha! I still have it! And I continued in college. I started working professionally in theatre in Atlanta in 2007, but I didn’t get into film and television until 2009. One of my first roles was playing the waitress, Ramona on the TBS micro-series, ‘Gillian In Georgia’. My role was changed from co-star to featured by the time I got to set, but I spent the entire time watching the pros in action. That was the day I fell in love with television and film!

You’ve been in a number of different TV series’ and films – who has been your favourite actor/actress to work with so far, and which project has been your favourite to be a part of?

It was a real treat to watch Jill Marie Jones that day on set and Sophia Bush when I shot ‘One Tree Hill’. I was hoping to work with Nina Dobrev from ‘The Vampire Diaries’, but our days didn’t overlap on set, unfortunately. Barry Watson was wonderful on ‘My Future Boyfriend’, but ‘Footloose’ is in a league of its own! I would jump at the chance to work with Ser’Darius, Ziah, Julianne, Kenny, and Miles again!

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things could you not live without?

The Yoga of Discipline by Swami Chidvilasananda, my I-Pad, and a chalice! Haha!

If I asked you to decorate a room, what colour would you paint it and why?

Probably white. It has the most options as a backdrop for a room. But I am very drawn to sage green, and reds, and oranges, browns, and more recently peacock-blue.

If you could invite three guests to a dinner – (living or dead) – who would you choose and why?

Only three?? Okay. Gurumayi, Oprah, and my late great-grandmother, Agnes Hiller. Each one is a highly conscious and powerful woman who I would be highly honoured (and slightly terrified) to host, discourse, and be in the company of! I’ve got LOTS of questions!

What’s coming up for you in 2012?

We’ll see! There are some really exciting projects in the works, so it will be thrilling to see how it plays out for the coming year.

Thanks for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Check Out The Archive!

